SARAH JEZEBEL DEVA To Be Joined By Ex-CRADLE OF FILTH Guitarist On Upcoming Tour

British vocalist Sarah Jezebel Deva — who has toured and/or recorded with CRADLE OF FILTH, THERION, MORTIIS and ANGTORIA — will be joined by her former bandmate, ex-CRADLE OF FILTH guitarist Gian Pyres, for her upcoming European tour, which will kick off in July.


For a list of upcoming Sarah Jezebel Deva shows, visit her MySpace page.

Sarah Jezebel Deva's solo album, "A Sign Of Sublime", was released on February 15 through Rising Records. The drums on the CD were laid down by Max Blunos, formerly of the U.K. death metal outfit TRIGGER THE BLOODSHED. Other guest musicians that appear on the album include Martin Powell (CRADLE OF FILTH, ANATHEMA, MY DYING BRIDE) and Dave Pybus (CRADLE OF FILTH). The CD was mixed and mastered at Escape Route by Dan Abela.

"A Sign Of Sublime" track listing:

01. Genesis
02. A Sign Of Sublime
03. She Stands Like Stone
04. The Devil's Opera
05. They Called Her Lady Tyranny
06. The Road To Nowhere
07. Your Woeful Chair
08. Newborn Failure
09. Daddy's Not Coming Home

The "A Sign Of Sublime" video can be viewed below. The clip was directed by David Kenny and "is not a full band shot, as in we all play individually; we cannot be seen all bunched together," says Sarah. She adds, "I just wanted to try and do something different."

Regarding the musical direction of her solo debut, Sarah says, "It's not another ANGTORIA, it's not CRADLE OF FILTH... what is it? Hell if I know! Haha... it's music! No label, just me and the people I care about doing music. It's not pompous, it's not over the top. I would like to say it's just a mixture of styles and feelings. Some tracks are fast, almost having a black metal edge, some tracks are slow, almost like a movie film score... and well, it just doesn't all sound the same, it's not blast beats from start to finish, it has feeling, and well, that's it!"

On the topic of her continuing collaboration with Dave Pybus, Sarah says, "I feel lucky to have one of my best friends work with me on this album. He did ANGTORIA and, of course, Dave and I have worked together many years in CRADLE OF FILTH and I am just proud to have someone by my side who doesn't put any restrictions on me and doesn't believe in putting restrictions on music. He is open-minded and fun, loyal and very hard-working and we both have the same vision... to enjoy life and playing."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).