SALEM: 'Playing God' Release Dates Announced

"Playing God And Other Short Stories", the seventh full-length album from Israeli extreme metallers SALEM, will be released on April 26 in Europe and May 25 in North America via Pulverised Records. The CD was recorded at Harold Studios in Israel and was mastered by UE Nastasi at Sterling Sound in New York City.

"Playing God And Other Short Stories" features a guest appearance by AT THE GATES frontman Tomas Lindberg, who shares vocal duties on "The Mark Of The Beast Part 1" and sings exclusively on "The Mark Of The Beast Part 2". The album also includes SALEM's unique cover version of one of Bob Marley's most recognizable songs — "Exodus".

"Playing God And Other Short Stories" track listing:

01. Drums Of The Dead Part 1
02. Drums Of The Dead Part 2
03. The Privileged Dead
04. Exodus (BOB MARLEY cover)
05. Downfall Of Paris Part 1
06. Downfall Of Paris Part 2
07. The Mark Of The Beast Part 1 (feat. Tomas Lindberg)
08. Beast Lullaby
09. The Mark Of The Beast Part 2 (feat. Tomas Lindberg)
10. The Mark Of The Beast Part 3
11. I Hate Pigs!
12. Playing God

Regarding the album artwork for "Playing God And Other Short Stories" (see below), SALEM drummer Nir Nakav states, "The cover is based around Adinkra, a West African symbol system. The symbol we used is called Gye Nyame and it means 'except for God.' This unique and beautiful symbol is ubiquitous in Ghana. It is by far the most popular for use in decoration and also a reflection on the deeply religious character of the Ghanaian people."

SALEM recently took part in a brand new promo photo shoot related to the concept of the upcoming, with the entire band donning "superhero costumes."

Commented Nakav: "The opening track on the new album, 'Drums of the Dead', is inspired by a Hellboy graphic story by the same name. It is the first time that Abe Sapien goes on a solo mission and in the promo picture I am wearing a shirt that carries the insignia of his bureau. Remaining true to form, the other guys in the band took on characters that 'play God'; Superman with his ability to reverse time (that is why he can be seen in three different places at the same time on the promo shot) and the Punisher who kills evildoers.

"As the lyricist of SALEM, I feel obligated to add that this album will mark the first time in the band's history that we are not touching on political subjects. The album texts are all inspired by either stories I read or movies I watched in the past couple of years.

"I think that after a quarter of century, it is important for a band to keep moving forwards, feel fresh, innovative and vibrant. I believe that once the album is out, the world will witness a tighter than ever band with a new twist."


Ze'ev Tananboim - Vocals
Nir Gutraiman - Guitar
Lior Mizrahi - Guitar
Michael Goldstein - Bass
Nir Nakav - Drums


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).