RUINED SOUL One-Man Project Evolves Into A Full-Blown Band

Gothenburg, Sweden's RUINED SOUL, which was started by Johnny Johansson as a one-man metal project due to Johnny's focus on DISDAIN, has evolved into a full-blown band.

Commented Johnny: "Yes, RUINED SOUL was supposed to be a solo project, but… no more! The urge of playing these songs live and spending more time on RUINED SOUL has grown since day one. I really feel that it's time to get this machine started. I can't wait to get this machine going and get out there and play for you guys! The guys that complete the band are the right guys to play with, so I'm pretty excited."

RUINED SOUL lineup (right to left in photo below):

* Johnny Johansson (DISDAIN) – Guitars
* Jonathan Thorpenberg (TRENCHES) – Guitar
* Janne Jaloma (DEALS DEATH) – Drums
* Patrik Johansson (ARISE) – Vocals

A bass player for the group has not yet been chosen.

RUINED SOUL filmed a video for the song "Rewind" on March 16 with Greenworks. The track comes off the band's debut album, "My Dying Day", which was released in 2010 via Suicide Records.

Greenworks previously helmed RUINED SOUL's music video for the track "My Dying Day".

"My Dying Day" features guest appearances by the following musicians:

* Jonas Kjellgren (SCAR SYMMETRY)
* Matias Kupiainen (STRATOVARIUS)
* Niklas Stålvind (WOLF)
* Olof Mörck (NIGHTRAGE)
* Eric Rauti (DREAMLAND)
* Marios Iliopoulos (NIGHTRAGE)
* Benny Jansson (RIDE THE SKY)
* Jonas Hörnqvist (TREASURE LAND)
* Tobias Jansson (THE LAW)
* Patrik Johansson (ARISE)
* Peter Huss (SHINING)
* Janne Stark (CONSTANCIA)

Johnny has already written 10 songs for RUINED SOUL's as-yet-untitled forthcoming sophomore album. The CD, which is expected to be recorded later in the year, will feature guest appearances by the following musicians:

* Patrik Johansson (ARISE)
* Christofer Malmström (DARKANE)
* Carl Johan Grimmark (NARNIA, ROB ROCK)
* Jonas Jarlsby (AVATAR)
* Simon Andersson (ex-AVATAR)
* David Sücz (DEGRADEAD)
* Anders Nyström (DEGRADEAD)
* Jake Fredén (NOSTRADAMEUS)



Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).