ROSETTA To Release 'Quintessential Ephemera' Album In June

ROSETTA To Release 'Quintessential Ephemera' Album In June

Philadelphia's ROSETTA will release its new album, "Quintessential Ephemera", on June 22 with "pay-as-you-wish pricing" directly from the band's Bandcamp page.

Formed in 2003, ROSETTA's first two full-lengths, 2005's "The Galilean Satellites" and 2007's "Wake/Lift", pulled together elements from '90s hardcore, drone, doom, and atmospheric sludge metal. Influenced as much by the minimal sonics of STARS OF THE LID as by the crushing weight of GODFLESH, the band's experiments had a spaced-out and exploratory feel, appropriately dubbed "metal for astronauts." With the release of "A Determinism Of Morality" in 2010, the band traded improvisation for a tighter and meaner sound. Leaving the space themes behind, the album focused on retaining melodic sophistication while honing a confrontational urgency.

After concluding a decade-long partnership with Translation Loss Records in 2013, ROSETTA went fully independent and quietly released "The Anaesthete", a pay-as-you-wish download on Bandcamp. A literal overnight success, the album paid for itself in 24 hours and remained the top-selling release on Bandcamp, in any format, for nearly a month after its release. "The Anaesthete" was a turning point, the darkest and most conceptual album of the band's career, a slab of nihilistic despair in the face of the corruption and co-optation of independent music by commercial industry.

In 2014, ROSETTA made their first-ever lineup change, adding Eric Jernigan of longtime tourmates CITY OF SHIPS on guitar and vocals. As a five-piece, they recorded "Quintessential Ephemera", a many-layered collection of songs at once existential and deeply hopeful. Containing some of the band's most moody and yet accessible work to date, it still has an upward force to it that delivers an appropriate counterpoint to the darkness and disintegration of "The Anaesthete".

The first offering from "Quintessential Ephemera", a song called "Untitled V" was premiered exclusively by Noisey.

"Quintessential Ephemera" track listing:

01. After The Funeral
02. (Untitled I)
03. (Untitled II)
04. (Untitled III)
05. (Untitled IV)
06. (Untitled V)
07. (Untitled VI)
08. (Untitled VII)
09. Nothing in the Guise of Something

The song "(Untitled V)" can be streamed below (courtesy of Noisey).

The band will be playing shows prior to the album's release.



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).