ROB ZOMBIE Guitarist JOHN 5 Speaks To Hungary's ROCKBOOK (Video)

ROB ZOMBIE Guitarist JOHN 5 Speaks To Hungary's ROCKBOOK (Video)

Rockbook conducted an interview with ROB ZOMBIE and ex-MARILYN MANSON guitarist John 5 on June 16 at the Aerodrome festival in Budapest, Hungary. You can now watch the chat below.

From the darkest corners of the twisted mind and imagination of John 5 comes his new masterpiece, "Careful With That Axe", the follow-up to 2012's critically acclaimed "God Told Me To". Released digitally on August 12 through 60 Cycle Hum, "Careful With That Axe" is John 5's eighth solo album and features Rodger Carter on drums and Matt Bissonette on bass. The CD's first single, "This Is My Rifle", will be digitally released on June 17. Pre-orders for both the single and "Careful With That Axe" are up now at all online participants.

As main axe wielder for ROB ZOMBIE, John 5 obsessively keeps himself busy both on and off the road, incessantly writing, recording, filming and creating.

Recorded at The Doghouse Studios in Los Angeles in between tour legs, "Careful With That Axe" was produced by John 5, along with Rodger Carter, and illustrates his musical growth and talents as a guitar player and composer. Carter and Bissonette are in perfect sync, masterfully laying down the musical dreamscape with technical precision. Packed with rapid-fire, machine-gun riffs and musical crescendos, all intertwined with blistering-fast six-string assaults and an eerie sense of melody, John 5 leads you on a macabre journey through the twisted minds of a different brand of ax wielders. With compositions such as "Portrait Of Sidney Sloan", "The Dream Slayer" and "Flight Of The Vulcan Kelly", John draws you in with lightning-fast leads, completely redefining the term "shredding."

Not to be pigeonholed into any one particular style, "Careful With That Axe" also showcases John 5's talents and versatility as a guitar virtuoso and musician. From his flawless finger-picking technique on the Latin-flavored "El Cucuy" and his fast, intricate guitar work on the classic Jerry Reed covers "Jerry's Breakdown" and "Jiffy Jam", banjo included, to anthemic "Six Hundred And Sixty Six Pickers In Hell", John 5 gracefully weaves in and out of many different styles ranging from metal and rock, to bluegrass, country & western and flamenco, all harmoniously coming together for his magnum opus "Careful With That Axe".

"Careful With That Axe" track listing:

01. We Need To Have A Talk About John
02. This Is My Rifle
03. Flight Of The Vulcan Kelly
04. Jerry's Breakdown
05. Villisca
06. Portrait Of Sidney Sloan
07. Jiffy Jam
08. Six Hundred and Sixty Six Pickers In Hell
09. El Cucuy
10. The Dream Slayer

The "Careful With That Axe" artwork includes a photo by Ray Gutierrez of StrangeBeautifulArt, who previously took the pictures for John 5's "The Art Of Malice" album.

In a recent interview with Loudwire, John 5 stated about the "Careful With That Axe" album: "It's just crazy, man. 'Careful With That Axe' and all the songtitles are related around axe murders and stuff, so it all comes around and makes sense."

Speaking to Metal Obsession, John 5 said about his forthcoming CD: "If people liked my earlier work, you're going to be really excited about it. It's really intense. It's, like, when you listen to it, it's, like, 'What just happened?' It's really exciting. I can't wait for people to hear it."


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).