Tom Morello of RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE will release his new solo album, "The Fabled City", on September 30, 2008 via Epic Records. The 11-song set is the follow-up to the 2007 THE NIGHTWATCHMAN debut "One Man Revolution". Now being billed as TOM MORELLO: THE NIGHTWATCHMAN, Morello's new CD is the first release to bear the political and social activist's birth name. "The Fabled City" was produced by Brendan O'Brien (BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN, PEARL JAM) and features appearances by SYSTEM OF A DOWN's Serj Tankian and Shooter Jennings.

Widely known for his unique voice as a master electric guitarist, Morello's compositions as TOM MORELLO: THE NIGHTWATCHMAN have been primarily based around the acoustic guitar. However, as his MySpace page firmly states, "You don't have to be loud, son, to be heavy as shit," and the stories and sounds presented throughout the album showcases a depth and intelligence rarely heard in the modern musical climate surrounding it. With more complex electric arrangements than displayed on "One Man Revolution", "The Fabled City" is the synthesis of his groundbreaking work as an innovative rock guitarist and revolutionary acoustic troubadour.

When describing "The Fabled City", Morello stated, "My goal was to capture the energy and emotion of THE NIGHTWATCHMAN live shows. There is a much more rocking quality to this record, solos and riffs, mixed with darker acoustic songs. I think my singing has come a long way as well. I had a lot of devastating losses of family and friends during the past two years and 'The Fabled City' is a search for hope through music and confronting injustice."

TOM MORELLO: THE NIGHTWATCHMAN will be touring heavily throughout 2008 and 2009 in support of "The Fabled City".

"The Fabled City" track listing:

01. The Fabled City
02. Whatever It Takes
03. The King of Hell
04. Night Falls
05. The Lights Are On In Spidertown
06. Midnight In The City of Destruction
07. Saint Isabelle
08. Lazarus On Down (feat. Serj Tankian)
09. Gone Like Rain
10. The Iron Wheel (feat. Shooter Jennings)
11. Rise to Power

THE NIGHTWATCHMAN's "Road I Must Travel" video (taken from 2007's "One Man Revolution"):


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).