PSYCROPTIC Releases 'Frozen Gaze' Video

PSYCROPTIC Releases 'Frozen Gaze' Video

The official music video for the song "Frozen Gaze" from Tasmanian extreme metal stalwarts PSYCROPTIC, can be seen below. The track is taken from the band's seventh full-length studio album, "As The Kingdom Drowns", which will be released on November 9 via Prosthetic Records.

Formed by brothers Dave and Joe Haley, PSYCROPTIC has always lived in that very small space between technical and metal. The over-the-top insanity peaked with their third album, 2006's "Symbols Of Failure". From there, the band looked to smooth things out a bit, whether it was with some ambience or industrial elements in 2008's "Ob(Servant)" or focusing in on the groove on 2012's "The Inherited Repression". 2015's "Psycroptic" seemed to encompass all that the band had done, so where does one go from there? For the band, it was somewhat easy.

The self-titled album gave the band a new and solid platform to launch off of, making experimentation easier. The hard part was where to go and just how far to take it. Singer Jason Peppiatt comments: "As always with this band, we wanted it to have the distinctive sound of a PSYCROPTIC album but wanted to push ourselves further with adding new elements and having a darker vibe than on previous releases. I think we achieved our goal and this is something we are all very proud of."

The new album was once again produced by J. Haley and was mixed and mastered by Will Putney. Artwork was handled by Mariusz Lewandowsky.

"As The Kingdom Drowns" track listing:

01. We Were The Keepers
02. Frozen Gaze
03. Directive
04. Deadlands
05. As The Kingdom Drowns
06. Beyond The Black
07. Upon These Stones
08. Momentum of the Void
09. You Belong Here, Below

As PSYCROPTIC approaches its 20th anniversary, it's nice to see them sounding as fresh as ever. With age comes wisdom and maturity. All the band's previous work got them to where they are at today. Comfortable in their own shoes, nothing to prove, being able to look back at their earlier years with pride and seeing a long road ahead that they know they are ready to tackle.


Dave Haley - drums
Joe Haley - guitar
Jason Peppiatt - vocals
Todd Stern - bass guitar


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).