PRAYING MANTIS: New Album Details Revealed

Frontiers Records has set a June 5 European release date for the new studio album from NWOBHM (New Wave Of British Heavy Metal) legends PRAYING MANTIS, entitled "Sanctuary" (July 14 in the U.S.). The CD was recorded in Atlanta, Georgia under the direction of producer/engineer Andy Reilly (ASIA, THE CULT, BRUCE DICKINSON, FM, etc). "Hard to believe but MANTIS have been in existence for over thirty years," says bassist Chris Troy. "Quite incredible, really, that we are still there releasing albums and maturing nicely. This also coincides with the 30th anniversary since the inception of NWOBHM (New Wave Of British Heavy Metal). IRON MAIDEN have obviously made it and just as importantly have managed to stay up there for this long time. Well done, lads! By the way, the album title 'Sanctuary' has no relationship to them!! However, we do share some history and maybe this album will put us up there with them."

He continued, "I know its probably a cliché statement used by so many bands, but I do honestly believe it is by far the best thing we have ever done. The lyrics on most songs are quite deep and in some ways dark but I think these suit the music which is intrinsically based on minor chord structures (the saddest chords !). There are some real epics and duelling guitar harmonies in the standard MANTIS style and all the fans who have heard it so far have been giving us some great feedback."

"Sanctuary" track listing:

01. In Time
02. Restless Heart
03. Tears In The Rain
04. So High
05. Lonely Way Home
06. Touch The Rainbow
07. Threshold of a Dream
08. Playing God
09. Highway
10. Sanctuary

Check out audio samples at this location.

The album will be exclusively presented at the Bush Hall in London, U.K. on May 3 2009 with a special listening session and concert. More dates and festivals are in the works.


Tino Troy - Guitar, Backing Vocals
Chris Troy - Bass, Backing Vocals
Benjy Reid - Drums
Andy Burgess - Guitar, Backing Vocals
Mike Freeland - Lead Vocals


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).