POISON To Release Covers Album 'Poison'd' In June

POISON, one of rock's most iconic and enduring bands, has recorded a new album of cover songs, featuring many of their favorite rock classics. "Poison'd", the band's first new studio album since 2002, will be released June 5 on CD and digitally by EMI America Records/Capitol.

Featuring POISON's original members, Bret Michaels (vocals), C.C. DeVille (guitar), Rikki Rockett (drums) and Bobby Dall (bass), "Poison'd" presents the band's first new studio recordings since 2002's "Hollyweird". Produced by Don Was at Hensen Recording Studios in Hollywood, "Poison'd" packs 13 explosive tracks, including new recordings of DAVID BOWIE's "Suffragette City", THE CARS' "You're Just What I Needed", THE ROMANTICS' "What I Like About You", SWEET's "Little Willy", THE MARSHALL TUCKER BAND's "Can't You See" and THE ROLLING STONES' "Dead Flowers". Some of POISON's best previously recorded covers are also featured on "Poison'd", including KISS' "Rock and Roll All Nite", GRAND FUNK RAILROAD's "We're An American Band" and LOGGINS AND MESSINA's "Your Mama Don't Dance".

"POISON is one of the greatest rock 'n roll bands in the world and, after 20 years, they can slam better than ever," says "Poison'd" producer Don Was. "They're powerful musicians and very cool guys. We had a lot of fun making this album and I think you can hear it in the grooves — it's got the jive and is truly alive! I urge everyone to listen to it!"

Following the release of "Poison'd", POISON will hit the road again on June 12 for a major North American summer concert tour. Tour dates and details will be announced and posted to the band's official website as they are confirmed.

In July, VH1 will premiere a new reality show, "Rock of Love with Bret Michaels". VH1's description of the show has "the hard-rockin' POISON front man looking for a woman who can truly keep up with his rock-n-roll lifestyle and not become jealous of his one true passion — performing, which has been the reason for and destruction of most of his relationships."

"Poison'd" (CD and Digital Album) (not final sequence) track listing:

01. Little Willy (SWEET)
02. Suffragette City (DAVID BOWIE)
03. I Never Cry (ALICE COOPER)
06. What I Like About You (THE ROMANTICS)
07. Dead Flowers (THE ROLLING STONES)
08. Just What I Needed (THE CARS)
09. Rock and Roll All Nite (KISS)
10. Squeeze Box (THE WHO)
11. Your Mama Don't Dance (LOGGINS AND MESSINA)
12. You Don't Mess Around With Jim (JIM CROCE)
13. We're An American Band (GRAND FUNK RAILROAD)

Tracks 1-8: produced by Don Was - 2007 (new recordings)
Track 9: produced by Rick Rubin, "Less Than Zero" soundtrack - 1987
Track 10: produced by Thom Panunzio, "Hollyweird" - 2002
Track 11: produced by Tom Werman, "Open Up and Say ... Ahh!" - 1988
Track 12: produced by Ric Browdie - 1987; bonus track on "Look What The Cat Dragged In" reissue (2006)
Track 13: produced by Don Was, "The Best Of Poison: 20 Years Of Rock" - 2006


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).