POISON, SCORPIONS, QUEENSRŸCHE Featured On Compilation Of Biggest Hard Rock Ballads Of All Time

"VH1 Classic Metal Mania: Stripped", an acoustic compilation of the biggest hard rock ballad hits of all time, is set for release February 8, 2005 on Sidewinder Music. Gathered from imports, live recordings, rare performances, hard-to-find albums, and six NEW recordings, "Stripped" is an extensive collection of acoustic tracks from hard rock's multi-platinum metal gods.

While heavy metal artists were known for their hard-rocking ways and arena rock anthems, it was often their ballads that crossed over and gave them more popularity and exposure, as well as their highest chart positions and mainstream recognition.

"Stripped" offers fans intimate, one-of-a-kind versions of such classic cuts as POISON's "Every Rose Has Its Thorn" and QUEENSRŸCHE's "Silent Lucidity" (from "MTV Unplugged"); SCORPIONS' "Wind Of Change" (from "Acoustica Live"), FIREHOUSE's "When I Look Into Your Eyes" (from "Good Acoustics"), WARRANT's "I Saw Red"; SLAUGHTER's "Fly to The Angels" (from "Stick It To Ya") and a solo performance by Kip Winger of WINGER's "Miles Away". This rare power ballad compilation also features a live acoustic version of TESLA's "The Way It Is", and an a capella track of "More Than Words" from EXTREME.

"Stripped" also features six new acoustic recordings including versions of
NIGHT RANGER's "Sister Christian"; CINDERELLA's "Don't Know What You Got (Till It's Gone)"; L.A. GUNS' "Ballad of Jane"; WHITE LION's "When The Children Cry"; ALIAS's "More Than Words Can Say" and GREAT WHITE's "Save Your Love".

Jamie Talbot, compilation producer, A&R/Immortal Entertainment, comments, "If you look beyond the hairspray and leather pants that many of these metal artists are perhaps best-known for, you find powerful songs that stand the test of time. Many of these hits were written on acoustic guitar or piano and later transformed into more elaborate productions. We believe 'Stripped' offers versions of these songs that reveal a warmth and intimacy that allow the melodies and song craft to shine through in a way not widely heard."

"'Metal Mania' is one of the most talked about programs on VH1 Classic," said Eric Sherman, Senior Vice President/General Manager, VH1 Classic and VH1 Digital Television. "We're excited that we can extend its tremendous popularity into this collection of acoustic performances that highlight some of the best of the metal genre. 'VH1 Classic Metal Mania: Stripped' is the first of many VH1 Classic-themed products that will allow us to strengthen our connection with our enthusiastic viewers."

VH1 Classic will support the release of the "Stripped" CD through extensive on-air promotion including an exclusive performance by Kip Winger of "Miles Away" taped in the VH1 Classic studio. The CD will also benefit from radio promotions and online support, and will also be available for purchase at Shop.VH1Classic.com.

"VH1 Classic Metal Mania: Stripped" full track listing:

01. POISON - "Every Rose Has Its Thorn" (4:27)
02. NIGHT RANGER - "Sister Christian" (5:08) (New Recording)
03. SCORPIONS - "Wind of Change" (5:30)
04. CINDERELLA - "Don't Know What You Got (Till It's Gone)" (5:09) (New
05. QUEENSRŸCHE - "Silent Lucidity" (5:29)
06. EXTREME - "More Than Words" (4:09)
07. WARRANT - "I Saw Red" (3:44)
08. TESLA - "The Way It Is" (6:03)
09. WINGER - "Miles Away" (3:58)
10. L.A. GUNS - "Ballad of Jane" (4:56) (New Recording)
11. WHITE LION - "When The Children Cry" (4:30) (New Recording)
12. FIREHOUSE - "When I Look Into Your Eyes" (4:04)
13. SLAUGHTER - "Fly To The Angels" (3:22)
14. ALIAS - "More Than Words Can Say" (3:51) (New Recording)
15. GREAT WHITE - "Save Your Love" (5:25) (New Recording)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).