PILGRIM, the three-piece doom metal band from Rhode Island, has inked a deal with Poison Tongue Records, the label of vocalist Alan "Nemtheanga" Averill of Irish pagan metal masters PRIMORDIAL. PILGRIM's debut album, "Misery Wizard", will be released in Europe on January 30, 2012 through Poison Tongue's distribution deal with Metal Blade Records.

Comments PILGRIM: "Working with Alan was an honor and a pleasure. He invested a lot of his personal time and energy into making this record happen, despite us being separated by an ocean. He's a wealth of knowledge regarding metal music and its industry, a perfect mentor for a band of young musicians like ourselves."

"Misery Wizard" track listing:

01. Astaroth
02. Misery Wizard
03. Quest
04. Masters of the Sky
05. Adventurer
06. Forsaken Man


The Wizard - Guitar, Vocals
Count Elric The Soothsayer - Bass
Krolg, The Slayer Of Man - Drums

With a mix of destruction, misery and beauty, PILGRIM blends a surprisingly original sword and sorcery feel with the classic chest-caving heaviness of the masters, BLACK SABBATH, SAINT VITUS, REVEREND BIZARRE and PENTAGRAM. Their thick walls of majestically darkened guitar, massive booming bass, and dangerously powerful yet calculated drumming lull listeners into an intense dream-like trance, abducting them to places they never knew were dwelling within their own minds.

Commented PILGRIM: "'Misery Wizard' is a sonic journey through a strange and mystical legend. Hidden within are the twisted tales of the evil demons, ancient aliens and powerful sorcerers that once inhabited the dark realms of our fable. We wanted to make a record that harnessed the foreboding sounds of classic doom metal and mesh it with our tales of high-fantasy.

"We're influenced by dark, heavy music BLACK SABBATH, SAINT VITUS, REVEREND BIZARRE, DARKTHRONE, BURZUM and the like. Unlike a lot of modern musicians, we wanted to pay tribute to these bands without BEING them, so to speak. I think originality and individuality is a staple of this record. No two songs are too similar. Each is a unique gem revealing an unsung tale of old. Each song is a portal into a different scene of the overarching mythos that is PILGRIM."

Formed in early 2010, PILGRIM is a sonic documentation of the friendship of three young men inspired and awe-stricken by the dark sounds of traditional doom metal.

"Astaroth" audio stream:


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).