PHILIP ANSELMO's ARSON ANTHEM Announces Headlining Tour Dates

ARSON ANTHEM — the project featuring Philip Anselmo (DOWN, PANTERA, SUPERJOINT RITUAL) on guitar, Mike IX Williams (EYEHATEGOD) on vocals, Hank Williams III (SUPERJOINT RITUAL, ASSJACK) on drums and Collin Yeo (PONYKILLER) on bass — will embark on a short headlining tour of the Southern U.S. at the end of January 2011. Joining ARSON ANTHEM on the trek will be fellow Housecore Records artists HAARP and WARBEAST.

The dates are as follows:

Jan. 25 - Spartanburg, SC @ Ground Zero
Jan. 26 - Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade
Jan. 27 - New Orleans, LA @ The Hangar
Jan. 28 - Forth Worth, TX @ Rail Club
Jan. 29 - Fayetteville, AR @ Drifters

A final show for the tour has yet to be announced.

ARSON ANTHEM's full-length debut, "Insecurity Notoriety", was released on October 12 via Anselmo's Housecore Records.

"Insecurity Notoriety" track listing:

01. Naught
02. Foul Pride
03. Isolation Militia
04. More Than One War
05. Insecurity Notoriety
06. Pretty Like That
07. Initial Prick
08. Crippled Life
09. Polite Society Blacklist
10. If You Heard This You Would Hit Me
11. Hands Off Approach
12. Has Been/Has Been
13. Primate Envy
14. Death of An Idiot
15. Codependent and Busted
16. Kleptomania
17. Teach the Gun To Love the Bullet

ARSON ANTHEM was brought together in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, with Mike Williams moving into Anselmo's spare apartment after his home and possessions were destroyed. Through this connection, Williams and Anselmo spent time listening to Anselmo's irreplaceable hardcore music collection. The members relived the days of early '80s hardcore bands, such as DISCHARGE, NEGATIVE APPROACH, SHEER TERROR, and many others. It didn't take long for the music to squash their cabin fever, and inspire them to create a new venture that is now ARSON ANTHEM. Anselmo knew of the underrated-yet-unbridled percussion skills that his and Williams' mutual friend Hank Williams III possessed, causing the contact to be made and the band to come together. Finally, bassist Collin Yeo was recruited, and the sound was born.

"I'm not sure what it is... but when Hank III, Colin, Mike and I get into 'ARSON' mode, time stops," Anselmo states.

"We know the mission is to write unforgiving hardcore inspired by a slew of '80s bands... but the result is its own animal, yet not too terrible removed from the genuine article.

"With that said, 'Insecurity Notoriety' is like listening to an old favorite blast from the skanking past... vicious, snotty, grating and anthemic!

"I know it's typical to call a modern-day hardcore band 'fresh' or 'different,' especially when it's your band, but... it is!

"This effort makes our first EP sound like child's play, as it should.

"Play it over and over! Piss everyone off!"

ARSON ANTHEM's self-titled debut EP was released in February 2008 via Housecore.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).