PENNYWISE To Release 'Yesterdays' In July

PENNYWISE To Release 'Yesterdays' In July

Southern California punk legends PENNYWISE will release their eleventh studio album, "Yesterdays", on July 15 via Epitaph Records. Jim Lindberg is back as the frontman, and "Yesterdays" includes songs written by deceased bassist Jim Thirsk.

PENNYWISE will play two album-release shows; July 16 at The Observatory in Santa Ana, California and July 18 at the House of Blues in West Hollywood, California. Additionally, PENNYWISE will be on the Summer Nationals tour with THE OFFSPRING and BAD RELIGION from July 29 until August 31, with a festival appearance at Aftershock on September 14.

Listen to the first cut from the album, "Violence Never Ending", in a video reel of classic PENNYWISE footage below.

In its 26 years as a band, PENNYWISE has created a solid foundation as both a politically minded act and one of the most successful independent bands of all time. But it was not always that way. PENNYWISE got its start playing backyard parties in Hermosa Beach, California, without having any aspirations other than playing as many songs as they could before the police showed up. This side of PENNYWISE has never been captured until now, and "Yesterdays" sees the band putting their most nascent material in recorded form.

There have been two major changes in the PENNYWISE story since their last release, "All Or Nothing" (2012). First, frontman Jim Lindberg has rekindled with the band since leaving in 2009. And second, several songs featured on "Yesterdays" were written by deceased bass player Jason Thirsk and have been properly recorded in the studio for the first time.

"We always wanted to go back and record these songs because later in our career we started to get more political and angry," Lindberg explains. "That may have turned some people off but that's what we were feeling at the time. In the back of our minds, we knew we had these cool, old songs that were more life-affirming, it just took us 25 years to get back to it."

PENNYWISE recorded "Yesterdays" in the band's hometown factory district which is known for its influx of rehearsal studios and surfboard repair shops. "We tracked the whole thing in a few days doing a couple of takes of each song so it's a really raw album in that sense," says Lindberg.

"Yesterdays" track listing:

01. What You Deserve
02. Restless Time
03. Noise Pollution
04. Violence Never Ending
05. Am Oi!
06. Thanksgiving
07. She's A Winner
08. Slow Down
09. Public Defender
10. No Way Out
11. I Can Remember



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).