PEARL JAM Bassist JEFF AMENT's 'Heaven/Hell' Album Due In May; 'Safe In The Car' Video Available

PEARL JAM Bassist JEFF AMENT's 'Heaven/Hell' Album Due In May; 'Safe In The Car' Video Available

PEARL JAM bassist Jeff Ament will release his third solo album, titled "Heaven/Hell", on May 10. Ament is the second member of the group to issue a solo effort in the past year, following drummer Matt Cameron's solo debut, "Cavedweller", in late 2017.

"Heaven/Hell" was recorded between June and October 2017 by John Burton and Josh Evans at Horseback Ridge, Litho, Studio X and Warehouse.

01. The Noise The Noise
02. The Door
03. Safe In The Car
04. Hyperphagia
05. Drugs
06. Moment Of Impact
07. The Voices
08. Somewhere
09. Are You Truing?
10. Choose Your Color
11. Only One

The video for "Safe In The Car", which is set entirely in Ament's vehicle, can be seen below.

"I was seeing Cormac McCarthy's 'The Road' — you're driving to the coast and you're trying to get away from the nuclear winter and you have your dogs in the car and you're just trying to escape this horrible apocalypse that just happened," Ament told Rolling Stone about the clip.

"[The directors] asked me what I wanted [the video] to look like and the first thing that came to mind was grindhouse," the PEARL JAM bassist added. "I always loved the super high-contrast, dark look of that. It's the world coming to an end and trying to have a sense of humor about it."

"Safe In The Car" features Ament on vocals and bass, Matt Cameron on drums, Mike McCready on guitar, Angel Olsen on additional vocals, and Brianna Atwell, Jordan Voelker, April Cameron and Alex Ho on strings.

PEARL JAM has been writing its 11th studio LP and is heading out on European and North American tour dates this spring and summer.

In addition to a full month of European dates, PEARL JAM will play two shows apiece at Seattle's Safeco Field, Chicago's Wrigley Field and Boston's Fenway Park, as well as a gig in Missoula, Montana.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).