PAUL DI'ANNO: Interview, Performance Footage From Bulgaria Posted Online

Metal Hangar 18 conducted an interview with former IRON MAIDEN vocalist Paul Di'Anno prior to his September 25, 2009 performance at Blue Box in Sofia, Bulgaria. Watch the chat below.

400 fans attended the concert, which celebrated the eighth anniversary of the Bulgarian rock/metal magazine Pro-Rock.

Di'Anno's setlist was as follows:

01. The Ides Of March
02. Wrathchild
03. Prowler
04. Marshall Lockjaw
05. Murders In The Rue Morgue
06. The Beast Arises
07. Children of Madness
08. Remember Tomorrow
09. Faith Healer
10. A Song for You
11. Killers
12. Phantom of The Opera
13. Running Free


14. Transylvania
15. Blitzkrieg Bop (RAMONES cover)
16. Sanctuary

Di'Anno's backing band consisted of musicians from the Italian IRON MAIDEN tribute act CHILDREN OF THE DAMNED:

Paul Di'Anno - Vocals
Carlo Micheletti - Lead/Rhythm Guitar
Michele Galli - Lead/Rhythm Guitar
Matteo Panzavolta - Bass/Backing Vocals
Gianluca Calanca - Drums

Check out photos at this location.

When asked by Vue Weekly in a recent interview about the possibility of releasing a new studio album in the not-too-distant future, Di'Anno replied, "We did five new tracks in Germany last year — it's very industrialized — but we got in a bit of an argument with the record company and we told them to piss off, basically. So I kept them songs and a friend of mine where I am right at the minute in Salisbury down in Southwest England, has just handed me 16 pieces of music so I'm going to go away when I have a bit of time and see what I can come up with for that."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).