PARADISE LOST Members Comment On Upcoming 'The Anatomy Of Melancholy' DVD

Four tracks from the upcoming PARADISE LOST DVD "The Anatomy Of Melancholy" are available for streaming in audio format on the band's MySpace page. Check out the songs "Sweetness", "Pity The Sadness", "No Celebration" and "Say Just Words" at this location.

On April 12, 2007, PARADISE LOST played a sold-out show at the Koko club in the heart of Camden, London to record a DVD. Fans and media from all over the world came to the beautiful Baroque style venue to celebrate a band that, 20 years since its conception in 1988, is still one of the most exciting bands of their self-defined genre.

Starting with the UK live debut of "The Enemy" from PARADISE LOST's latest album "In Requiem" (which came out one month later), the setlist includes songs the band hadn't played live in a long time prior to that night, such as "Eternal" and "Gothic" from their 1991 album "Gothic", the rare B-side "Sweetness" from their 1994 "Seals The Sense" single and other classics from their impressive album roster. With a tracklist like this it's easy to win over the audience and be rewarded with enthusiastic feedback, but even the highly critical UK press were convinced by the band's honest and pure energy.

The live show was filmed and directed by Paul M Green and his Dash Productions team (who previously worked with OPETH, THE DAMNED, GARY NUMAN and many more). Jens Bogren (OPETH, KATATONIA, AMON AMARTH, SYMPHONY X, etc.) mixed the brilliantly captured live sound at Fascination Street Studios in Sweden, and the dark enchanting cover artwork was done again by Greek artist Seth who already worked on the band's last two album covers.

Here are the exact release dates:

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Benelux, Italy: Friday, May 23
Spain, Portugal: Tuesday, May 27
Sweden, Finland, Hungary: Wednesday, May 28
UK, France, Greece, Denmark, Norway, Rest Of Europe: Monday, May 26

Also available as strictly limited 2DVD+2CD and 2LP!

The bonus material features interviews with all band members, quotes from the fans at the Koko, a half hour road movie from the following European tour in fall 2007 and the highly acclaimed "The Enemy" promo video, shot on the Crimean peninsula by Russian avant-garde director Edward 209.

With the band's 20th anniversary in 2008, this DVD is the perfect entertainment for your private anniversary party. A trailer for "The Anatomy Of Melancholy" will be posted online soon!

"The Anatomy Of Melancholy" DVD track listing:

Live at the Koko, London (1:38:28)

01. Intro
02. The Enemy
03. Grey
04. Erased
05. Red Shift
06. So Much is Lost
07. Sweetness
08. Praise Lamented Shade
09. Pity The Sadness
10. Forever Failure
11. Once Solemn
12. As I Die
13. Embers Fire
14. Mouth
15. No Celebration
16. Eternal
17. True Belief
18. One Second
19. The Last Time
20. Gothic
21. Say Just Words

Bonus material

* Interview with PARADISE LOST (14:27)
* Fans at the Koko (8:48)
* Lost In Europe (2007 tour report) (27:30)

Promo videos:

01. The Enemy (3:39)
02. Praise Lamented Shade (4:05)
03. Over The Madness - documentary trailer (1:31)

Guitarist Greg Mackintosh comments: "The release of 'The Anatomy of Melancholy' is quite exciting for us. Not only is it a DVD but it is also our first live album in the history of PARADISE LOST! It incorporates pretty much every era of our career. Jens Borgen has mixed the DVD, and in my opinion he did a sterling job with the mix. It has so much energy to it and you can really feel the atmosphere of this special night. Also Seth's artwork is beautiful as always. For us this is definitely a great way to celebrate our 20th anniversary."

Vocalist Nick Holmes adds: "After 20 years and 11 albums, we figured it was maybe time to release our first live album. We wanted a good cross section of what we feel are our most popular 'live' songs, whilst also representing a good proportion of our albums so far. I feel that all the songs chosen for this DVD sit very well side-by-side in a live environment, despite our musical career being somewhat varied at times. Already there are people who disagree with some of our song choices, but if that means that we have more than one good song, I guess thats a positive."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).