PANZER Featuring ACCEPT And DESTRUCTION Members: 'Death Knell' Video Released

PANZER Featuring ACCEPT And DESTRUCTION Members: 'Death Knell' Video Released

PANZER, the new German "supergroup" comprised of vocalist and bassist Schmier, best known as frontman of DESTRUCTION, guitarist Herman Frank (ACCEPT, VICTORY) and drummer Stefan Schwarzmann (ACCEPT, ex-RUNNING WILD), released its debut album, "Send Them All To Hell", on November 28 via Nuclear Blast. The cover artwork for the CD was created by Hungarian artist Gyula Havancsák, who has previously worked with DESTRUCTION and HEADHUNTER.

The official video for the song "Death Knell" can be seen below. The clip was filmed in Hannover and produced by Kai Swillus.

"Send Them All To Hell" track listing:

01. Death Knell
02. Hail And Kill
03. Temple Of Doom
04. Panzer
05. Freakshow
06. Mr. Nobrain
07. Why?
08. Virtual Collision
09. Roll The Dice
10. Bleed For Your Sins

The initial idea for PANZER was born when Schwarzmann, who relocated to Switzerland about seven years ago, had a chat with the owner of renowned Swiss club Z7 in Pratteln. The two tried to figure out a way to make best use of the the down time between touring and recording. To make a long story short: Nobert Mandel (owner of Z7) had the idea to put together a trio, with both Stefan and Herman in it. The only vacancy for bass and vocals wouldn’t stay open for long, as Stefan had the phone number and mail address of Schmier right at hand — and so PANZER was formed.

Commented Schmier: "When Stefan Schwarzmann, drummer of ACCEPT and an old friend, came to me with the idea of putting a band together, I first thought he tried to fool me… hahaha! But the idea sounded amazing from the beginning and after the first meeting with Herman Frank, the German guitar legend, that everybody knows from his work with ACCEPT and VICTORY and Stefan, we realized really fast, that this team could really kick some serious ass together. And instead of talking too long about it, we started writing songs right away and within some weeks had half of the album recorded and it sounded wicked!"

He continued: "We don t wanna re-invent the metal-wheel. We play the music we love, easy as that and it's great fun 'cause we all dig this shit since we are teenagers!"

Naming a band after fierce war machinery might seem a bit off for some, but if you take a look at the lyrics, this is picture perfect. The lyrics provoke and are part of the art.

"My lyrics criticize... I don't pray," added Schmier.

And as difficult as the search for a name was at first, with all members being German die-hards and organizers of the Teutonic scene, PANZER seemed to be the name everybody will remember right away.

As for the album title, "Send Them All To Hell" was almost mandatory, as these are the first words to be heard on the record, with Schmier whispering them into the mic. With the exception of two tracks that feature all three members, all songs are written entirely by Herman Frank and Schmier.



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).