PALLBEARER: 'I Saw The End' Video Released

PALLBEARER: 'I Saw The End' Video Released

"I Saw The End", the new video from the Arkansas progressive doom quartet PALLBEARER, can be seen below. The clip was directed by Zev Deans of Panorama Programming (LAMB OF GOD, CHELSEA WOLFE, GHOST).

The band commented: "Both song and video present a telescopic view on an eternity of corruption. The path of greed leads to misery. When higher awareness allowed us to claw our way out of the mud, we found new ways to exploit one another, abusing the gift that could bring us to new heights. In the end, we pay for our selfishness. Join us for this elegy for what might have been."

"I Saw The End" is taken from PALLBEARER's third record, titled "Heartless", which will be released on March 24 via Nuclear Blast Entertainment in Europe, Australia and New Zealand and via Profound Lore in North America.

Initially formed in 2008, PALLBEARER grew from the fertile underground metal scene of Little Rock — releasing their debut full-length, "Sorrow And Extinction", in early 2012. The record made an immediate and immense impact on die-hard doom fans and metal critics alike, also forming the four-piece fans outside of the metal scene. Their formidable sophomore record, 2014's "Foundations Of Burden", featured on countless critics' end-of-year lists and cemented their reputation as an unstoppable and emotive force — driving doom beyond its imagined limits, carving themselves an entirely original path through the realm of heavy music.

"Heartless" track listing:

01. I Saw The End
02. Thorns
03. Lie Of Survival
04. Dancing In Madness
05. Cruel Road
06. Heartless
07. A Plea For Understanding

"I Saw The End" is an indicator of an album grander in scope than anything PALLBEARER has released prior, showcasing a natural progression that melds higher technicality and more ambitious structures with their most immediate hooks to date. On "Heartless", PALLBEARER offer a complex sonic architecture that weaves together the spacious exploratory elements of classic prog, the raw anthemics of '90s alt-rock, and stretches of black-lit proto-metal. Lyrics about mortality, life, and love are set to sharp melodies and pristine three-part harmonies. Vocalist and guitarist Brett Campbell has always been a strong, assured singer, and on "Heartless", his work is especially stunning. By fusing their widest musical palette to date, PALLBEARER make the kind of heavy rock that will appeal to diehards, but could also find the group crossing over into newer territories and fanbases. After having helped revitalize doom metal, it almost feels like they've gone and set their sights on rock and roll itself. Which doesn't seem at all impossible on the back of a record like "Heartless".

"Heartless" was recorded entirely to analog tape at Fellowship Hall Sound, Little Rock, Arkansas between June and August 2016. The record was produced by PALLBEARER, and mixed by acclaimed producer Joe Barresi (TOOL, MELVINS, QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE, FU MANCHU). Engineering was handled by Jason Weinheimer and Zach Reeves, and mastered by Grammy-winning mastering engineer Dave Collins (BLACK SABBATH, ALICE COOPER, SOUNDGARDEN, STING).

See PALLBEARER on tour later this month with support from MARISSA NADLER and KAYO DOT.


* Brett Campbell - Lead Vocals, Electric And Acoustic Guitars, Synthesizers
* Devin Holt - Electric And Acoustic Guitars, Vocals
* Joseph D. Rowland - Electric Bass, Vocals, Synthesizers
* Mark Lierly - Percussion

Photo creit: Diana Lee Zadlo



Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).