PAIN Mainman Discusses 'Heavier', 'Darker' New Album In Video Interview

Kaaos TV conducted a video interview with PAIN/HYPOCRISY mainman Peter Tägtgren on February 18 at Sonic Pump Studios in Helsinki, Finland. When asked how PAIN's forthcoming album, which is tentatively titled "You Only Live Twice", compares to the group's previous releases, Peter said, "It's definitely got more variety, and it's heavier and darker... I just wanted to pull it a little bit heavier. I don't know why. When you do things sometimes, you don't have a reason; it just feels like it. It's really hard to explain."

PAIN's new CD will be released on June 3 via Nuclear Blast Records. The follow-up to 2008's "Cynic Paradise" was recently described by NIGHTWISH singer Anette Olzon — who also happens to be the girlfriend of PAIN bassist Johan Husgafvel — as "more aggressive" and "faster" than the band's previous work, with "new elements they haven't used before." She also called the CD "darker" in terms of Peter's lyrical and vocal approach before adding, "One song is more like HYPOCRISY, so if you like that you'll have that one as a favorite."

She continued, "When I first heard the songs I thought it was quite different from the last album and it is. The more I listen to the songs the more I like them and I think it will be a great one! I can see them do their famous headspins live to this album, too."

Tentative track listing for new PAIN album:

01. Let Me Out
02. The Dark
03. The Great Pretender
04. You Only Live Twice
05. Dirty Woman
06. We Want More
07. Leave Me Alone
08. Feed The Monster
09. Sleeping With The Dead


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).