OVERKILL's BOBBY 'BLITZ' ELLSWORTH: 'We Play Every Show Like It Could Be Our Last'

OVERKILL's BOBBY 'BLITZ' ELLSWORTH: 'We Play Every Show Like It Could Be Our Last'

Metal Injection recently conducted an interview with vocalist Bobby "Blitz" Ellsworth of New Jersey thrash metal veterans OVERKILL. You can now watch the chat below.

Asked if he still enjoys touring more than three decades since OVERKILL's inception, Ellsworth said: "I do, yeah. I still, actually, get nervous, and I still get butterflies. And it doesn't matter if there's 200 or 20,000 [people in attendance]. I mean, that's always the way the process has been. I know that the guys have gelled into a great lineup, and we can get out there and we have a great time doing this, but the show is the most important thing. And that's because I think we play every show like it could be our last show. And if you think in those terms, if you think in that daily process, what you're putting into it is going to have those emotions and those physical changes come about you. Your eyes widen and you can't believe you're in Costa Rica, or Berlin, or New York, or in Tokyo. I mean, it's a great feeling. So I really do look forward to the touring."

OVERKILL's new album, "White Devil Armory", was released on July 22 in North America via eOne Music (July 18 in Europe through Nuclear Blast Records). The effort was tracked at Gear Recording and was mixed by Greg Reely, who also worked on 2012's "The Electric Age".

OVERKILL's videos for "Bitter Pill" and "Armorist" wre filmed with veteran director Kevin J. Custer (HATEBREED, TESTAMENT, SUFFOCATION). Custer previously worked with OVERKILL on the "Electric Rattlesnake" and "Bring Me The Night" clips.

"White Devil Armory" track listing:

01. Freedom Rings
02. Where There's Smoke...
03. Pig
04. Armorist
05. Down To The Bone
06. Bitter Pill
07. King Of The Rat Bastards
08. Another Day To Die
09. It's All Yours
10. In The Name

The limited-edition box-set version of "White Devil Armory" includes a digipack CD, a leather belt and buckle plus a certificate of authenticity.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).