OVER THE RAINBOW Announces Temporary Lineup Change

OVER THE RAINBOW will be joined by keyboardist Paul Morris for the group's June 4, 2009 appearance at the Sweden Rock Festival in Sölvesborg, Sweden. Tony Carey, the original and permanent keyboardist for the band, is unavailable to perform on this date.

After returning from OVER THE RAINBOW's successful Japanese tour, Carey developed a gastrointestinal disorder that requires immediate treatment. His doctors have recommended that he refrain from touring and travelling for a short period of time.

Carey and the other members agreed that for the sake of the fans' demand to see OVER THE RAINBOW that the "show must go on" at the Sweden Rock Festival as long as the integrity of the band's concept remained intact.

Like all members of OVER THE RAINBOW, Paul Morris was also a member of RAINBOW. He recorded and toured with them from 1994 through 1997. Morris looks forward to playing the great RAINBOW classics from all RAINBOW eras just as he did during his tenure with the band.


Joe Lynn Turner (RAINBOW 1980-1984) - Vocals
Tony Carey (RAINBOW 1975-1978) - Keyboards
Bobby Rondinelli (RAINBOW 1980-1983) - Drums
Greg Smith (RAINBOW 1994-1997) - Bass
Jürgen "J.R." Blackmore - Guitar
Paul Morris (RAINBOW 1994-1997) - Keyboards (Sweden Rock Festival)

Jürgen Blackmore is a critically acclaimed guitarist in his own right and agreed to join this endeavor after realizing how intense the demand was for a RAINBOW "reunion." OVER THE RAINBOW marks the first time that four members from three different eras of RAINBOW have taken the stage together along with J.R. Blackmore.

The setlist for OVER THE RAINBOW's February 16, 2009 concert at BKZ Octyabrsky in Saint-Petersburg, Russia was as follows:

01. Tarot Woman
02. Kill The King
03. Street Of Dreams
04. Man On The Silver Mountain
05. Death Alley Driver
06. Eyes Of The World
07. Ariel
08. Wolf To The Moon
09. Power
10. Jealous Lover
11. Can't Happen Here
12. Drum Solo
13. Stargazer
14. Long Live Rock'n'Roll / Lazy / Long Live Rock'n'Roll

Encore 1:

15. I Surrender
16. Since You've Been Gone

Encore 2:

17. All Night Long

Check out pictures from Russia's Darkside.

Fan-filmed video footage of OVER THE RAINBOW's February 18, 2009 concert in Moscow, Russia can be viewed below (clip uploaded by "Tizianadolce").


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).