OTHERWISE Releases Music Video For 'Lifted'

OTHERWISE Releases Music Video For 'Lifted'

Las Vegas rockers OTHERWISE have released a music video for their new song "Lifted". The Chisel Pixel Productions-directed clip was shot last month in Los Angeles.

Regarding the shoot, OTHERWISE's Adrian Patrick said: "Making the video for 'Lifted' was perhaps the most fun we've ever had filming! The locale was absolutely stunning (thanks to Patten Title Group), the vehicles and girls were drop-dead gorgeous, but the best part was having our family and friends there to celebrate with us; even our mom stopped by for a few! The director and his team did a phenomenal job putting it all together; the final product came out over the top and zany AF, which is exactly what we wanted... We can't wait for this silly beast to get released so the world can get 'Lifted' with us!"

"Lifted" is a wiry riff that snakes around blunt lyrics "about getting fucked up, alcohol, and drugs… it got me kicked off tours and banned from festivals," Adrian admitted. "It's about all of the same shit that got me trouble, and the label thought it was the best single to lead with. It's fun. I've been the guy the song is about. I've lived that life. I've been there. It's real."

"Lifted" is taken from OTHERWISE's upcoming studio album, "Defy", which will be released on November 8 via Mascot Records, a division of Mascot Label Group.

The hard rockers flew out of the traps when they were heralded in their early days by Fox News as one of the best unsigned bands in the U.S. after their debut single, "Soldiers", sold over 10,000 copies. The song went of to feature on 2012's "True Love Never Dies", which has over 26 million Spotify streams alone and has become the band's anthem. They also became the first band to reach #1 on Sirius Octane without a record label and it was their formidable presence at satellite radio in the U.S. that built the band's following.

They were formed by Sin City-born brothers Adrian (lead vocals) and Ryan Patrick (guitar, vocals), on a diet of STONE TEMPLE PILOTS, THIRD EYE BLIND and FAITH NO MORE, with Tony Carboney (bass, vocals), and Brian Medeiros (drums) completing the lineup. The quartet have also previously enlisted high-profile friends in Ash Costello (NEW YEARS DAY) on "Heaven" from their 2012 label debut and Jonathan Davis (KORN) on 2017's "Sleeping Lions". Every single they've released has reached the top 30 U.S. Mainstream Rock charts. Adrian Patrick also featured on IN THIS MOMENT's 2010 song "The Promise", the band's highest-charting single to date.

Since OTHERWISE's self-titled independent debut in 2006, they've unleashed "True Love Never Dies" (2012), "Peace At All Costs" (2014) and "Sleeping Lions" (2017). Along the way, they have shared the stage with everyone from STONE SOUR to PAPA ROACH in addition to shutting down Welcome To Rockville, Rocklahoma and ShipRocked.

On "Defy", they linked up with producer Matt Good (ASKING ALEXANDRIA, HOLLYWOOD UNDEAD) for the first time, commuting from Las Vegas to his Phoenix studio in order to cut these eleven tracks.

"It's a new chapter all around, and we're fired up about it," the singer said. "Matt is the most creative, prolific producer we've ever worked with. He's the kind of guy we've always wanted in our corner."

The opener "Bad Trip" kicks down the door with ominous electronics and glitchy echoes before a hard-hitting and hypnotic chant. "It serves as a commentary on the current nebulous state of affairs we find ourselves mired in a as a nation…as human beings on this planet." Elsewhere, "Don't Even" takes no prisoners with a stranglehold groove and knockout chorus. "We were without a label and back to being a garage band," recalled Adrian. The anthemic "Ain't Done Yet" doubles as "OTHERWISE's mission statement." Meanwhile, the emotionally charged closer "Good Fight" strikes a different chord with its orchestral build up and soaring refrain. "It's for my wife and sons as well as all of our families and friends who've had our backs in this crazy life by music," smiled Adrian. "It's the last one we did. My dad always said, 'You've got to fight the good fight'. I felt some deeper connection to the phrase. It's like it came from eons and generations ago. This notion of fighting the good fight is part of our DNA."

"When you listen to the record, I hope you go, 'I did not expect that'," Adrian left off. "It's personal. This is my fucking life. There's no turning back. This band is the future of my family. It means everything to me — and all of us. This is OTHERWISE."

"Defy" track listing:

01. Bad Trip
02. Money
03. Crossfire
04. Lifted
05. Picking At Bones
06. Ain't Done Yet
07. Goliath
08. Don't Even
09. Fame and Miss Fortune
10. Unbreakable
11. Good Fight


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).