Original BLUE ÖYSTER CULT Members Reunite For New York City Show; Video Available

Original BLUE ÖYSTER CULT members Allen Lanier (keyboards, guitar), Albert Bouchard (drums, percussion), Joe Bouchard (bass), Donald "Buck Dharma" Roeser (guitar) and Eric Bloom (lead vocals, rhythm guitar) reunited for a one-off performance last night (Monday, November 5) at the Best Buy Theater in New York City.

The setlist for the show was as follows:

Set 1

01. This Ain't The Summer Of Love
02. Golden Age Of Leather
03. Burnin' For You
04. Harvest Moon
05. Me 262
06. Then Came The Last Days Of May
07. Lips In The Hills
08. Shooting Shark (with Bruce Kapler - saxophone)
09. Godzilla
10. I Love The Night

Set 2

01. Harvester Of Eyes (acoustic)
02. Astronomy (acoustic)
03. Gil Blanco County (acoustic)
04. Death Valley Nights (with Albert Bouchard vocals, acoustic)
05. In Thee (with Allen Lanier guitar, acoustic)
06. Summa Cum Laude
07. Arthur Comics
08. Black Blade
09. OD'd On Life Itself (with Allen Lanier, Albert Bouchard, Joe Bouchard)
10. Career Of Evil (with Allen Lanier, Albert Bouchard, Joe Bouchard)
11. The Red & The Black (with Allen Lanier, Albert Bouchard, Joe Bouchard)
12. (Don't Fear) The Reaper (everyone)

Fan-filmed video footage of the concert can be seen below.

Check out photos at this location.

Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, celebrated the 40th anniversary of "Blue Öyster Cult" — unleashed in 1972, the eponymous debut album from America's heaviest psychedelic metal band presaged punk, thrash and hardcore — with the release of "Blue Öyster Cult - The Columbia Albums Collection", a monumental career-spanning BLUE ÖYSTER CULT library comprised of 16 CDs (the full official canon plus two discs of rarities) and the mythic "Some Other Enchanted Evening" DVD (a blistering concert video from 1978). The highly-collectible boxed set was made available on October 30.

"Blue Öyster Cult - The Columbia Albums Collection" brings together the group's 14 official Columbia Records albums — including newly-mastered editions of "On Your Feet Or On Your Knees", "Fire Of Unknown Origin", "The Revolution By Night", "Mirrors", "Cultosaurus Erectus", "Extraterrestrial Live", "Club Ninja" and "Imaginos" — alongside two newly-curated bonus discs: "Rarities" and "Radios Appear: The Best Of The Broadcasts" (a special collection of classic live performances).

In addition, the "Blue Öyster Cult - The Columbia Albums Collection" box set comes with a special download code good for four live concert broadcasts as well as as a forty-page booklet chock-full of photos and liner notes from celebrated music writer and guitarist Lenny Kaye.

Originally formed in Long Island as SOFT WHITE UNDERBELLY in 1967, BLUE ÖYSTER CULT combined adventurous lyrical themes with an aggressive instrumental sound. With passion and intelligence on display in equal measure, BLUE ÖYSTER CULT became the thinking fan's rock band and a sign of life in a sea of dull, anemic soft-pop. Anthems like "Godzilla", "Harvester Of Eyes" and "Don't Fear The Reaper" stretched the boundaries of rock topics while lead guitarist Donald "Buck Dharma" Roeser became a hero to legions of budding axe-wielders. The band's mystique extended to their album artwork, resulting in some of the most distinctive and iconic LP covers of the rock era. "Blue Öyster Cult - The Columbia Albums Collection" gathers the essential pieces of the BLUE ÖYSTER CULT story into one mind-boggling totality.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).