OLD MAN'S CHILD: 'Slaves Of The World' Limited-Edition Digipack Detailed

Norwegian melodic black metal band OLD MAN'S CHILD, which is led by guitarist/vocalist Galder (also in DIMMU BORGIR), will release its new album, "Slaves Of The World", on May 19 via Century Media Records (one day earlier internationally). The CD was recorded last fall at Studio Fredman in Gothenburg, Sweden with producer Fredrik Nordström (DIMMU BORGIR, ARCH ENEMY, IN FLAMES, etc.), who had previously worked with the band on the "In Defiance Of Existence" (2003) and "Vermin" (2005) albums. The nine-song effort features Peter Wildoer (DARKANE, PESTILENCE) on drums.

Commented Galder: "So finally the new album, 'Slaves Of The World', is about to be released! It has been a long ride in preparing this but I am really proud of the results! It marks to be one of the OMC albums I put the most advance planning and dedication into! I can't wait for you all to hear the record!!!"

"Slaves Of The World" will also be available as luxurious cross-shaped five-panel CD digipack including a re-recorded version of the classic song "Born Of The Flickering" from the "Vermin" album sessions (previously only released in Japan) as an exclusive bonus track. The digipack version also features different artwork to the standard jewel case CD, also created by Gustavo Sazes (FIREWIND, GOD FORBID, KRISIUN).

"Slaves Of The World" track listing:

01. Slaves Of The World
02. Saviours Of Doom
03. The Crimson Meadows
04. Unholy Foreign Crusade
05. Path Of Destruction
06. The Spawn Of Lost Creation
07. On The Devil's Throne
08. Ferden Mot Fienden's Land
09. Servants Of Satan's Monastery

The song "Slaves Of The World" is available for streaming on the group's MySpace page.

Commented Peter: "After having being asked to be part of the new OMC album, I obviously went back and listened to the previous releases of the band, so I now am able to say that in my opinion, these new nine songs are the best material I have heard of the band so far. There is a lot of more variety going on and the album will sound bigger than any other OMC record before. As far as my performance goes, this is probably the best drumming I have ever recorded so far. I am extremely happy and proud of the session and there's a lot more double bass and blast beats on here than you have normally heard me doing, so look out for this great record!"

OLD MAN'S CHILD's last album, "Vermin", was released in October 2005 via Century Media Records. The follow-up to 2003's "In Defiance of Existence" was recorded at Studio Fredman in Gothenburg, Sweden and features a guest appearance by TESTAMENT/DRAGONLORD guitarist Eric Peterson. Artwork was handled by Set<'H>.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).