Dutch thrashers OCCULT have inked a deal with Karmageddon Media for the release of their fifth studio album, "Elegy For The Weak", due in early March. A U.S. release through Candlelight Records is expected a short time after the European release.

The follow-up to 2001's "Rage To Revenge" was produced by Andy Classen at Stage One studios in Bühne, Germany and contains the following track listing:

01. Disturbing The Dead
02. Nuclear Torment
03. Nocturnal Predator
04. Feel The Blade
05. Expire
06. Warbeast
07. Obsessed By The Grave
08. Slaughtering The Pigs
09. Reapers Call
10. Slut Of Sodom

Commented vocalist Maurice Swinkels: "We are very happy we are signed to Karmageddon Media now. We are convinced Karmageddon Media will guide us to a higher level when it comes to promotion and distribution of our albums. Hopefully we can attack some of the upcoming festivals as well. 'Elegy for the Weak' is without doubt the best album we recorded in our history... also due to Andy Classen's excellent work since he blessed the album with a killer sound. THRASH... OR BE THRASHED!!!"

In other news, OCCULT recently released a DVD through Lowlifemedia Productions covering the complete band story from 1990 until 2003.

Titled "To Be Thrashed – By Occult", the DVD contains the following:

- OCCULT live and backstage, from the earliest club gigs, through their Dynamo Open Air appearance, to recent European tours with bands such as MORBID ANGEL and DARK FUNERAL
- Interviews with band members and friends, including ex-vocalist Rachel (now SINISTER) and ex bassist Sjors, and Wannes of PENTACLE
- Live onstage jams with PENTACLE and DESASTER
- Early '90s feature story on OCCULT filmed for Dutch TV
- Appearances by SINISTER, GODDESS OF DESIRE, FLESH MADE SIN, INHUME, and others....
- Feature length approximately 83 minutes
- Including video clip for "Killing for Recreation" and the previously unreleased "Doomsday Destroyer" video.
- Most recordings from master tapes for excellent audio and video quality
- Studio-produced English narration
- Region code free


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).