OBLIVION Collaborates With String Orchestra

The orchestral track "Shred I. Multiverse" from San Francisco Bay Area "blackened, technical post-death metallers" OBLIVION, who feature in their ranks former ALL SHALL PERISH guitarist Ben Orum on bass, can be streamed in the YouTube clip below. The song is one of three bonus tracks on OBLIVION's new album, "Called To Rise", which was released on January 1.

Commented OBLIVION vocalist Nick Vasallo: "As a band, OBLIVION doesn't want to just fit into the typical death metal category. Sure, we come from primarily a death metal background and we fulfill all the stylistic criteria associated with it. But we want our music to have broad conceptions and extreme depth.

"I composed a piece called 'Multiverse' that exists within two universes: metal and classical. The notes are identical and the music functions both as modern art music and modern extreme metal. We hired some of the top string players in the Bay Area to perform the work and recorded video of the sessions.

"One of the aspects that I want to bring from the metal world into the classical is the physical embodiment of the music. Notice how the musicians are almost obligated to move their bodies and headbang to the music in order to rhythmically play it.

"'Shred' is very rhythmic and, like a metal musician, requires total physical involvement with the music.

"The second movement, 'Long Deaf Hate', is a tribute to a band that every metalhead knows and by the end of the piece they should recognize the quotation from which I draw all the musical material from.

"'Shred' is just one example of the classical music aspects that encompass our structural composition. There is also a lot of counterpoint in our music, like the Canon in E minor, which maybe we'll save for a later video."

"Called To Rise" track listing:

01. Oblivion Part 1 The Chant Of Tyrants
02. Black Veils Of Justice
03. Between Suns Of Light
04. Binary Souls
05. Reclamation
06. Canon 1 In E Minor
07. Annunaki
08. Reigns In Fire
09. Cancer Of Wraiths
10. Multiverse
11. Oblivion Part 2 Infinite Descent
12. Black Veils Of Justice (instrumental version)
13. Shred I. Multiverse (string orchestra)
14. Shred II. Long Deaf Hate (string orchestra)


Nick Vasallo - Vocals
Ben Orum - Bass
Ted O'Neill - Guitar
Victor Dods - Guitar
Luis Martinez - Drums

OBLIVION's video for the song "Reclamation" can be seen below. The special "End Of The World" version of the clip was directed by Brandon Hunt and is the first OBLIVION video to feature the band's two new members: Orum and guitarist Victor Dods (HACKSAW TO THE THROAT).

Orum announced his departure from ALL SHALL PERISH last month, explaining in statement that he "could not fulfill [his] duty as a touring musician any longer" due to the fact that he needed to provide for his family. He added: "While I am done with touring, I will never stop writing music. I am joining the extreme metal band OBLIVION as a bassist and contributing songwriter. We are beyond excited to unleash [our debut album] onto the metal world. I've always been into death metal and extreme music, [and] this is my return to true death metal."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).