NUCLEAR ASSAULT: Surprises In Store On Upcoming Studio CD

Reunited New York Thrash metal veterans NUCLEAR ASSAULT — vocalist/guitarist John Connelly, bass guitarist Danny Lilker, drummer Glenn Evans and new guitarist Scott Harrington — are putting the finishing touches to their first collection of new material in ten years at the Manchester, NH, studios of Screaming Ferret Wreckords head Timothy Koukos. Former member Erik Burke (guitar) also plays guitar on the album, which is being co-produced by Koukos and Evans. Original songs were contributed by Evans, Connelly and Lilker.

Entitled "3rd World Genocide", the album is a rich blend of NUCLEAR ASSAULT's lethal, politically conscious metal and songs showcasing the band's wicked sense of humor. A few surprises are in store for fans too.

Tracks set to appear on "3rd World Genocide" include:

01. Price of Freedom
02. 3rd World Genocide
03. Fractured Minds
04. Defiled Innocents
05. Living Hell
06. Human Wreckage
07. Eroded Liberty
08. Whine &Cheese *
09. Celtic Frosty Cold Beer **
10. Folsom Prison Blues (JOHNNY CASH cover)
11. LHA ***

* a spoof of "mall rock"
** a CELTIC FROST spoof with lyrics about the ingredients of beer
*** or "Long Haired Asshole", a country/bluegrass song originally recorded for Connelly's solo album, "Back to Basics", officially credited as the JOHN CONNELLY THEORY

"I can't wait to get this out, knowing that the combination of the music and the heavy sound is gonna crush. Anyone who says metal is dead is out of their head," says Lilker.

The band's latest addition, Harrington played with Connelly in a band called NUCLEAR THEORY, which evolved into the RITE BASTARDS. His addition adds greater depth to NUCLEAR ASSAULT. Harrington's musical background suits the band perfectly. Hailing from Connecticut, he has been a mainstay in the East Coast metal and hardcore scene for well over a decade. His friendship with NUCLEAR ASSAULT dates back to when he was a member of seminal thrash upstarts AIMED AGGRESSION and they opened for NUCLEAR ASSAULT numerous times.

"I'm coming into this as a longtime fan. I actually learned to play by figuring out riffs on 'Survive' back when I was 12 years old," Harrington says.

Back in 1998, Connelly and Harrington worked together in the RITE BASTARDS, which evolved from LOWEST COMMON DENOMINATOR. And Harrington has kept busy since with his band MINUS, which recently changed its name to DENYTHEFALLOUT.

"A few years back MINUS did a reworking of NUCLEAR ASSAULT's classic 'Critical Mass' and we were psyched when one night John jumped up and tore it up with us. The crowd went nuts, and we were pumped to have a thrash legend approve of our take on a song he wrote and made famous," remembers Harrington.

Several Screaming Ferret labelmates make guest appearances on "3rd World Genocide". Eric Paone of CANDY STRIPER DEATH ORGY contributes backing vocals. Travis Horton of RED RIGHT HAND and DISTRUST also adds backing vocals and plays five-string banjo on "LHA". Koukos, who also plays with RED RIGHT HAND in addition to running the label, adds electric guitar touches and backing vocals as well as five-string banjo and six-string acoustic and lead guitar on "LHA".


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).