NOVEMBERS DOOM To Release 'Aphotic' In May

Chicago's NOVEMBERS DOOM has finished recording its eighth full-length album, "Aphotic", for a May 10 release via The End Records. The CD features special guests on several tracks: Anneke Van Giersbergen (AGUA DE ANNIQUE, THE GATHERING) delivers a chilling and haunting vocal on What Could Have Been"; world-renowned violinist Rachel Barton Pine (EARTHEN GRAVE) lends her talent on both "What Could Have Been" and "The Dark Host"; finally, the man behind the mixing board, Dan Swanö (NIGHTINGALE, EDGE OF SANITY, BLOODBATH), adds his vocal touch to "Of Age and Origin", also offering rare appearance of his mighty growl!

NOVEMBERS DOOM frontman Paul Kuhr says of the new album, "One goal in NOVEMBERS DOOM is to never repeat ourselves. We aim to constantly challenge our writing abilities to deliver something new each and every time, while maintaining what we feel is our signature sound. We feel we've not only accomplished that with 'Aphotic', but have pushed our creativity into new musical territory. The result is quite possibly the most unique NOVEMBERS DOOM release yet."

According to a press release, "Aphotic" "has its roots in darkness and melancholic madness, reminiscent of the band's early doom roots but bringing something new and modern to the listener."

"Aphotic" track listing:

01. The Dark Host
02. Harvest Scythe
03. Buried
04. What Could Have Been
05. Of Age and Origin - Part 1: A Violent Day
06. Of Age and Origin - Part 2: A Day of Joy
07. Six Sides
08. Shadow Play


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).