The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame has announced the inductees for the 2014 class. The six artists selected for the Performer Category are: KISS, Peter Gabriel, DARYL HALL & JOHN OATES, NIRVANA, Linda Ronstadt and Cat Stevens.

Ahmet Ertegun awards will go to THE BEATLES' late manager Brian Epstein and original THE ROLLING STONES manager/producer Andrew Loog Oldham. The Award for Musical Excellence — formally known as the Side-Men category — will be presented to the E STREET BAND.

DEEP PURPLE and YES were among the rock acts who were nominated but did not make this year's final list.

"For once… I'm speechless," said Dave Grohl of NIRVANA's induction. "From the basements, to the dingy clubs, to the broken down vans, to… the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame.

"I'd like to thank the committee not only for this induction, but also for recognizing NIRVANA for what we were: pure rock and roll. Most of all, thank you to all of the fans that have supported rock and roll throughout the years, and to Kurt and Krist, without whom I would not be here today."

Krist Novoselic added: "This is a great honor. Thank you to the people who nominated and voted for us. Thank you most of all to Kurt Cobain. And to everyone who's kept rock music going strong for 60 years and counting."

NIRVANA's 1991 album "Nevermind" went on to sell over 14 million copies while drastically changing landscape of rock n' roll. Novoselic told The Pulse Of Radio why he thinks NIRVANA took off so explosively. "Well, it was a phenomenon. I think a lot of it was timing as what was going on in the music business. And a lot of the Sunset Strip hair bands were past their prime and people were ready for something new. Nirvana always tried to be sincere."

The 29th annual Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame induction ceremony will take place on Thursday, April 10, 2014 at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York. The 2014 ceremony will again be open to the public, as it has been for the induction ceremonies in Cleveland in 2009 and 2012, and Los Angeles in 2013. This will be the first time that the ceremony will be open to the public in New York City.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).