NIKKI SIXX Explains SIXX: A.M.'s Decision To Cover THE CARS' 'Drive'

NIKKI SIXX Explains SIXX: A.M.'s Decision To Cover THE CARS' 'Drive'

SIXX: A.M., the band featuring MÖTLEY CRÜE bassist Nikki Sixx alongside guitarist DJ Ashba and vocalist James Michael, earlier in the week released its cover version of THE CARS song "Drive". The track is taken from SIXX: A.M.'s third album, "Modern Vintage", which will be released on October 7 via Eleven Seven Music.

Regarding the decision to cover "Drive", which was originally a Top 5 hit for THE CARS in 1985, Sixx wrote on the SIXX: A.M. Facebook page:

"James, DJ and I sit around listening to music all the time and talk about great songs. We talk about how, as songwriters, we're woken up in the middle of the night by lyrics and melodies and how that haunts you because you're half asleep and the idea usually vanishes before you can pick up your pen or instrument. Every now and then, if you're really lucky, it comes back to you and you write one of THOSE songs.

"Sometimes you will hear a song in the distance or on the radio and you think, 'I wish I had written that.' I have a handful of songs that I wish I had written. 'Drive' by THE CARS is one of them. This is a song probably only an insane artist would try taking on because, to be honest, it's pretty much perfect.

"For years we've been looking for a song SIXX: A.M. could cover, and for some reason, that was never even brought up. Instead we started laying down basic tracks for ELVIN BISHOP's 'Fooled Around And Fell In Love', but something wasn't quite right. Then one day the melody to 'Drive' popped into my head. I picked up the phone and sang it to James. He said, 'I'll call you right back,' and called DJ, who immediately said, 'Lets go for it.'

"The first task and most important task was to respect and keep the integrity of THE CARS' version. We knew all ears would be on us if we didn't deliver the goods and the pressure was on.

"At the end of the first day of arranging, we felt we had achieved the direction that was right for SIXX: A.M. After that, we just went with our instincts adding a guitar solo, changing the bass parts slightly and layering in sounds that were otherworldly, giving it a thick texture that was perfect for James to soar over.

"When you a cover someone else's song, fans of the original will let you know if you have done it justice.

"We can't wait to hear from you."

"Modern Vintage" track listing:

01. Stars
02. Gotta Get It Right
03. Relief
04. Get Ya Some
05. Let's Go
06. Drive
07. Give Me A Love
08. Hyperventilate
09. High On The Music
10. Miracle
11. Before It's Over

Said Sixx: "Like our favorite bands from the 1970s, SIXX: A.M. is rooted in songwriting, musicianship and lyrics — three core elements that helped to define that era. SIXX: A.M. has taken even more pages from this book on 'Gotta Get It Right' and the rest of 'Modern Vintage', having hopefully created a record that demands to be discovered again and again."

Added Michael, who also produced "Modern Vintage": "On the first two albums, SIXX: A.M. established a musical freedom that few bands get to enjoy. 'Gotta Get It Right' is clearly a birth child of that creative freedom and an exciting next step for us as our goal was to create something which confounds both expectation and categorization." Ashba adds: "'Gotta Get it Right' is a great example of how SIXX: A.M. has set out to celebrate the music that has influenced us over the years and we truly feel we've made a genre-defying album with 'Modern Vintage'."

"Drive" audio stream:

James Michael and bassist Nikki Sixx talking about "Drive":

sixxammodernvintagecdnew sixxam2014bandpromo_638


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).