New LEMMY Tribute Record Features Members Of WOLF, DENATA And SEANCE

New LEMMY Tribute Record Features Members Of WOLF, DENATA And SEANCE

Swedish paleontology professor and heavy metal aficionado Mats E. Eriksson named a fossil worm, Kalloprion Kilmisteri, in honor of Lemmy Kilmister in 2006. Now — ten years later — the fossil has come to brutal sonic life with the aid of prolific Swedish metal musicians, notably members of WOLF, DENATA and SEANCE, interpreting the "paleo metal" song "Silurian Overkill".

The "Kalloprion Kilmisteri - Silurian Overkill" record features three, thrash/death metal tracks with lyrics by Eriksson. The lyrics hail the fossil and honor Lemmy, who tragically passed away in December 2015, while simultaneously flirting with the MOTÖRHEAD legacy.

The first song, a death'n'roll-oozing beast, is composed and arranged by Swedish death metal pioneers SEANCE, this being their first release since 2009! SEANCE today features Tomas Andersson (FREEVIL, DENATA, SEANCE), Johan Larsson (SEANCE), Mique Flesh (FREEVIL, SEANCE, ex-WITCHERY, ex-SATANIC SLAUGHTER), and Tony Toxine Vargfrost (FREEVIL, SEANCE, ex-WITCHERY, ex-SATANIC SLAUGHTER).

The second song, a fast thrash/death metal composition by DENATA, with Tomas Andersson on vocals, features a MOTÖRHEAD-esque guitar solo by film music composer and longtime, die-hard MOTÖRHEAD fan Mattias Bärjed (FREE FALL, REFUSED, ex-THE SOUNDTRACK OF OUR LIVES, ex-NYMPHET NOODLERS).

The third song was also composed by thrash/death metal band DENATA and proudly features howling, metal singer extraordinaire Niklas "Viper" Stålvind (WOLF) on vocals and lead guitar.

The first two tracks were mixed by Mique Flesh in HellSmell Studio, whereas the third track was mixed by Simon Johansson (WOLF) and Mike Wead (KING DIAMOND) in SolnaSound Recording.

Following the digital release, the songs will also be available on a limited, collector's edition 12" picture vinyl, limited to 300 copies worldwide.

The record is released by Mats E. Eriksson together with fellow paleontologist Achim G. Reisdorf as the fourth album in the Sonic Science Slam Explorer series.

The official release party for the vinyl will take place November 11 at the grand opening ceremony of the "Rock Fossils" exhibition in Chemnitz, Germany.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).