NEBULA To Release 'Holy S**t' Album In June

NEBULA To Release 'Holy S**t' Album In June

Desert rock titans NEBULA will release their first studio album in 10 years, "Holy Shit" on June 14 via Heavy Psych Sounds. The band's first LP since 2009's "Heavy Psych" EP quickly puts to rest the question that's loomed since guitarist and vocalist Eddie Glass, bassist Tom Davies and drummer Michael Amster announced their reformation in 2017.

It's there in the inimitable space-grunge of "It's all Over" or the take-a-drag-and-be-gone "Let's Get Lost" or the way "Tomorrow Never Comes" manages to be so, so heavy and laid back at the same time. It's in the paradise-psych of "Gates Of Eden" and even the snoring you hear before the devilish "Man's Best Friend" kicks in to open the album (the studio couch became a crash spot).

Since the days of 1998's "Let it Burn" EP and the now-classic "To The Center" debut album, NEBULA has always been just a little more dangerous. Just a little more unhinged. "Holy Shit" shows this front to back for the essential part of their character it is, and yet it's not trying to be anything they've done before, whether it's those early outings or "Heavy Psych" or "Charged" (2001), "Apollo" (2003) or "Atomic Ritual" (2005). It's a sixth NEBULA album — something for which even the most ardent of fans could hardly have hoped.

The basic tracks were done in two days, recorded at Mysterious Mammal Studios in Los Angeles with Matt Lynch (also of SNAIL) at the helm. Leads and loops and feedback effects were done live by Glass and Davies as they recorded the basic tracks, just the way they'd do it on stage, and overdubs followed after as needed. A glut of material was produced and whittled down to the core of what you hear here.

"Holy Shit" track listing:

01. Man's Best Friend
02. Messiah
03. It's All Over
04. Witching Hour
05. Fistful of Pills
06. Tomorrow Never Comes
07. Gates of Eden
08. Let's Get Lost
09. The Cry of A Tortured World

The song "Witching Hour" can be streamed below.

Bassist Tom Davies states about the track: "'Witching Hour' is about that magical time of the night when the dark is at its darkest and the moon is big, bold and bright and the general populous is tucked up in bed oblivious to the shenanigans of the marginalized going on all around them."


Eddie Glass - Guitar & Vocals
Tom Davies - Bass
Mike Amster - Drums


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).