NAPALM DEATH Bassist Explains Mexico City Cancellation

Bassist Shane Embury of British grindcore pioneers NAPALM DEATH has issued the following statement regarding the cancellation of the December 14, 2008 "Brufest" concert at El Rayo in Mexico City featuring BRUJERIA, NAPALM DEATH, BRUTAL TRUTH, OXIDISED RAZOR and INHARMONIOUS:

"Well, by now you will know that the Mexico City show got cancelled last minute. This was due to a death at the club the week previously and the club being shut down. We desperatly tried to find another club at short notice but couldn't due to restrictions as to who would book the show there, but more imporrtantly the short notice of it.

"We are really sorry this happened and we hope the people involved make sure you, the fans, who already bought tickets get their money back

"NAPALM DEATH was really looking forward to playing Mexico City as it has been such a long time and I hope that we can reschedule something next year. Please be patient and I hope you guys understand this was beyond our control."

NAPALM DEATH will release its new album, "Time Waits For No Slave", via Century Media Records on the following dates:

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Benelux, Italy: January 23
Spain, Portugal: January 27
Sweden, Finland, Hungary: January 28
UK: February 2
France, Greece, Denmark, Norway, Rest of Europe: January 26
USA: February 10

NAPALM DEATH recorded "Time Waits For No Slave" with producer Russ Russell. Drums were tracked at Parlour Studios in Kettering and guitars, bass and vocals were done at Foel Studios in Wales. The band then returned to Parlour for the mixing sessions.

"Time Waits For No Slave" track listing:

01. Strong Arm
02. Diktat
03. Work To Rule
04. On The Brink Of Extinction
05. Time Waits For No Slave
06. Life And Limb
07. Downbeat Clique
08. Fallacy Dominion
09. Passive Tense
10. Larency Of The Heart
11. Procrastination On The Empty Vessel
12. Feeling Redundant
13. A No-Sided Argument
14. De-evolution Ad Nauseum

Check out the song "Diktat" on the band's MySpace page.

The cover artwork for "Time Waits For No Slave", which was created by artist Mick Kenney, can be viewed below.

NAPALM DEATH vocalist Mark "Barney" Greenway recently spoke to U.K.'s Rock Sound magazine about, "Time Waits For No Slave", due to hit stores in February through Century Media.

"Each album appears to have got progressively better and better," he said. "There was no great master plan, really. We're just a very organic band, very spontaneous, and we just try to write the best songs possible. If there is anything in the back of our minds, then I think it's that we always try to make each album differ without losing the thread of what should be there and I think we've done that with this album."

"I still feel really humbled to be a part of the whole NAPALM DEATH experience," he continued. "People consider us to be a pioneering band, and once you've achieved that, what else is going to satisfy you? I get to work with some pretty unique musicians that come up with riffs and material that still blows me away, and it was no different for this record."

Read more from Rock Sound.

Greenway has told The Quietus web site that the band will play a one-off hometown show on January 31, 2009.

The gig, set to take place at the Asylum in Hockley, Birmingham, will see NAPALM playing its soon-to-be-released new album, "Time Waits For No Slave", in its entirety for the first and only time.

Tickets for the gig are priced at a very reasonable £10, and are available from Ticket Factory and Ticket Web. Doors are at 7:00 p.m.

Fan-filmed video footage of NAPALM DEATH performing two new songs — "Diktat" and "On The Brink Of Extinction" — at this year's Damnation Festival on November 22 in Leeds, UK can be viewed below (clip uploaded by Dave Ingham a.k.a. YouTube user "triptykon").


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).