MORGOTH: Two-CD 'Best Of' Collection Due In January

Legendary German death metallers MORGOTH will release a posthumous "best of" collection in January 2005 via Century Media Records.

MORGOTH was one of the first, best and most important death metal bands from Germany. Their first demo was recorded in 1987 and their first tour was with AUTOPSY and PESTILENCE in 1990, the same year that they mixed their second EP, "Eternal Fall", at the famous Morrisound Studio in Tampa Florida, where most of the early death metal bands like DEATH, MORBID ANGEL and OBITUARY also recorded their masterpieces. In the early '90s, death metal was at its creative highpoint and MORGOTH was the leading force from Germany. They continued touring all over the world with KREATOR, OBITUARY, UNLEASHED, MASSACRE, TIAMAT and more. But instead of repeating the same formula over and over again, they developed to a darker and more industrial-oriented groove over the years. The final tour with German industrial pioneers DIE KRUPPS marked the end but even today the band still holds a revered place in many a dark heart.

The double-CD set, "1987-1997: The Best of Morgoth", will be released on January 24, 2005. CD1 will contain 15 songs from all their official releases. CD2 starts with the six-song "Pits Of Utumno" demo (never released before on CD), three rare tracks and a multimedia enhancement featuring all four promo videos and two rare live tracks from 1993. In addition, you will get a 20-page booklet with a detailed history from vocalist Marc Grewe, all lyrics from CD1 and lots of photos, backstage passes, flyers and more.

"1987-1997: The Best of Morgoth" track listing:


01. Selected Killing ("Resurrection Absurd" EP, 1989)
02. Lies of Distrust ("Resurrection Absurd" EP, 1989)
03. Travel ("Resurrection Absurd" EP, 1989)
04. Burnt Identity ("Eternal Fall" EP, 1990)
05. White Gallery ("Eternal Fall" EP, 1990)
06. Pits of Utumno ("Eternal Fall" EP, 1990)
07. Body Count ("Cursed", 1991)
08. Isolated ("Cursed", 1991)
09. Sold Baptism ("Cursed", 1991)
10. Resistance ("Odium", 1993)
11. Under the Surface ("Odium", 1993)
12. Drowning Sun ("Odium", 1993)
13. This Fantastic Decade ("Feel Sorry for the Fanatic", 1996)
14. Graceland ("Feel Sorry for the Fanatic", 1996)
15. Last Laugh ("Feel Sorry for the Fanatic", 1996)


01. From Dusk to Dawn ("Pits of Utumno" demo, 1988)
02. Being Boiled ("Pits of Utumno" demo, 1988)
03. Eternal Sanctity ("Pits of Utumno" demo, 1988)
04. Pits of Utumno ("Pits of Utumno" demo, 1988)
05. The Beyond ("Pits of Utumno" demo, 1988)
06. Dance Their Dance ("Pits of Utumno" demo, 1988)
07. Golden Age (unreleased demo version, 1992)
08. TV War (early version with different lyrics of "A New Start", 1994)
09. Indifferent (rare track from the "Feel Sorry..." recording session, 1996)

Bonus Video Enhancement On CD 2:

01. Isolated (live at the Rock Hard Festival in Lichtenfels, Germany 1991)
02. Cursed & Sold Baptism
03. Under the Surface
04. Last Laugh
05. Body Count (live In Chemnitz, June 18, 1993)
06. Resistance (live In Chemnitz, June 18, 1993)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).