MISERY INDEX: New Album Title, Track Listing Revealed

MISERY INDEX has set "Discordia" as the title of their forthcoming Relapse Records debut.

"Discordia" is scheduled for a May 16 release and will feature ten new tracks from the Baltimore-based quartet. The track listing is as follows:

01. Unmarked Graves
02. Conquistadores
03. Outsourcing Jehovah
04. Breathing Pestilence
05. Meet Reality
06. Sensory Deprivation
07. The Meduse Stare
08. Dystopian Nightmares
09. Discordia
10. Pandemican

The LP and Japanese CD pressings of "Discordia" will include as a bonus track a cover of NASUM's "Digging In".

The band's energetic and articulate music has been pushing the boundaries of metal, hardcore and punk since its spring 2001 inception, and in what has become MISERY INDEX's calling card, "Discordia" promises to deliver lyrics as weighty and confrontational as their music is deadly.

Bassist/vocalist Jason Netherton (the quartet is rounded out by drummer Adam Jarvis and guitarists John "Sparky" Voyles and Mark Kloeppel) explains "Discordia"'s general lyrical approach: "The central theme of 'Discordia' revolves around a critical approach to everyday life in our 'modern' world," he said. "The lyrics are critical but at the same time hopeful. We hope that in looking at the world as it REALLY is, without painting any happy face on that which aches and suffers for change, we can sing these songs in confidence of something that matters and of something that screams for life in a mediated framework that consistently presents death as "the way of life" in the world outside the comfortable borders of the West, as well as in our own nation."

MISERY INDEX is currently set to tour Puerto Rico and Japan in March. The band has previously released the critically-acclaimed full-length "Retaliate" via Nuclear Blast as well as several independent releases through their own Anarchos imprint.

Upcoming MISERY INDEX shows:

Mar. 03 - Catano, PR @ Sopranos
Mar. 04 - Quebradillas, PR @ Galeon del Pirata
Mar. 11 - Tokyo, JPN @ Yutsuya Outbreak
Mar. 12 - Tokyo, JPN @ Shibuya Cyclone


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).