MINISTRY's Final Release Will Be An All-Covers Record

MINISTRY mainman Al Jourgensen has revealed to Germany's Metal Hammer magazine that the group's previously announced "final" album, "The Last Sucker", will be followed by an all-covers release, tentatively due in 2008. According to Jourgensen, the as-yet-untitled effort will contain "a lot of different cover songs from various bands," some of which have already been released on MINISTRY albums over the years.

MINISTRY's upcoming covers album is expected to include the following tracks, among others:

Previously released songs:

"Supernaut" by BLACK SABBATH (from "Supernaut" EP)
"Lay Lady Lay" by BOB DYLAN (from "Filth Pig")
"Roadhouse Blues" by THE DOORS (from "The Last Sucker")
"The Light Pours out of Me" by MAGAZINE (from "Animosity")

New songs:

"I Want You" by THE BEATLES
"Under My Thumb" by THE ROLLING STONES
"Space Trucking" by DEEP PURPLE
"Black Betty" by RAM JAM
"Radar Love" by GOLDEN EARRING

MINISTRY's "The Last Sucker" album will be released on September 18 via 13th Planet/Megaforce. A world tour will follow in 2008.

In addition to being MINISTRY's final studio album, the 11-track "The Last Sucker" is the third in an unrelenting and uber-critical CD trilogy aimed at exposing the plethora of foils, failures and fabrications perpetrated by the George W. Bush administration. "The Last Sucker", which follows "Houses of the Mole" (2004) and "Rio Grande Blood" (2006), is the final nail in the Dubya coffin. To represent the Prez accurately, Jourgensen interspersed snippets of Dubya sound bites and samples throughout "The Last Sucker". "My engineer and I were hunched over a computer for nights on end listening to this fucking idiot until our minds were numb," he said. "I mean, I'm absolutely stupider for listening to his drivel for such concentrated periods of time, but I viewed including these sound bites as a necessary evil."

"The Last Sucker" was produced and recorded this past spring by Jourgensen at his 13th Planet compound just outside of El Paso, TX, and sees the return of "Rio Grande Blood" musicians Thomas Victor (PRONG) on guitars, Paul Raven (KILLING JOKE, PRONG) on bass, with newcomer guitarist Sin Quirin from THE REVOLTING COCKS 2006 touring line-up. Jourgensen and his engineer John "Bixby" Bilberry handled all the drum programming. In addition, Burton C. Bell from FEAR FACTORY makes a vocal appearance on "Die In A Crash", as well as the album's final two songs, "End of Days" parts One and Two.

"The Last Sucker" track listing:

01. Let's Go
02. Watch Yourself
03. Life Is Good
04. The Dick Song
05. The Last Sucker
06. No Glory
07. Death and Destruction
08. Roadhouse Blues
09. Die In A Crash
10. End of Days Part One
11. End of Days Part Two


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).