MILLENCOLIN To Release 'Machine 15' In May

Revered Swedish punk rock outfit MILLENCOLIN is back with "Machine 15" — the band's first record in three years and the follow-up to 2005's "Kingwood". The album will be released on May 6 through Epitaph Records.

With an impressive string of releases behind them, nearly two million records sold worldwide and having shared stages with the likes of BLINK 182, FOO FIGHTERS and QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE, the Örebro-based quartet of vocalist/bassist Nikola Sarcevic, guitarists Erik Ohlsson and Mathias Färm and drummer Fredrik Larzon shows that it is on top of its game.

While upholding the classic MILLENCOLIN sound, the band chose to diversify, evolve and progress on the new album. The explosive result is pop-infused punk at its all-time best with driving beats, anthemic choruses and irresistible melodies that prove the band is back to kick ass and take names.

"I think it's great. It's different from what we've done before and we're stoked," guitarist Mathias Färm enthuses. A perfect example of this willingness to try new approaches is the first single "Detox" — "Ripe with harmony vocals, an infectious melody that gives nods to both THE BEATLES and the BEACH BOYS, and seven chord changes," Erik Ohlsson explains.

For "Machine 15", MILLENCOLIN re-teamed with producer Lou Giordano (SUGAR, TAKING BACK SUNDAY, PLAIN WHITE T'S), who previously worked with the band on 2003's "Home From Home". "We wanted the kind of crisp sound that Lou is notorious for. Plus we have a great chemistry with him," guitarist Erik Ohlsson adds.

Mixed in Berlin by Michael Ilbert, who lent his skills to records by the likes of THE HIVES and ROXETTE, "Machine 15" achieves the perfect blend of skillful and contagious music. "This time, especially, it feels like we have something extraordinary to present," vocalist Nikola Sarcevic adds.

"Machine 15" track listing:

01. Machine 15
02. Done Is Done
03. Detox
04. Vicious Circle
05. Broken World
06. Come On
07. Centerpiece
08. Who's Laughing Now
09. Brand New Game
10. Ducks & Drakes
11. Turnkey Paradise
12. Route One
13. Danger For Stranger
14. Saved By Hell
15. End Piece


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).