Carl-André Beckston, designer of Michael Kiske's (ex-HELLOWEEN) last solo album ("Kiske") and PLACE VENDOME's debut CD (the project featuring Kiske alongside PINK CREAM 69 members Dennis Ward, Uwe Reitenauer, Kosta Zafiriou and VANDEN PLAS' Gunther Werno), has opened a webshop where you can buy prints of his artwork in various sizes. Beckston's gallery can be accessed at this location.

According to MichaelKiske.net, Beckston is currently working on Kiske's new album cover and booklet art.

As previously reported, Kiske is currently rearranging and re-recording all of the songs that he wrote with for an upcoming CD, to be released later this year through Frontiers Records. The projected track listing for the album is as follows:

01. We Got the Right
02. A Little Time
03. Kids Of the Century
04. Goin' Home
05. You Always Walk Alone
06. When the Sinner
07. I Believe
08. Longing
09. In the Night
10. Your Turn
+ as-yet-undisclosed new song

When asked by a fan named Deborah Schwichtenberg what he thinks of people who are criticizing his decision to re-record the HELLOWEEN classics, claiming that Kiske "used to eat from HELLOWEEN's songs" before slamming them in the press and now once again wanting to "eat" from HELLOWEEN by selling new recordings of their material, Kiske responded, "I don't give a hack about this! Unfortunately, the metal world is full of people who bark and complain and bark and complain forever anyway, no matter what I do. They will always search for reasons to cry.

"I was part of that band, so I didn't just 'eat' from them. That's a very weird way of thinking. I was BUILDING the band together with the original members, and no one can forbid me to re-record acoustic versions of MY OWN music. I don't think I have to ask 'metal popes' for their permission to do that at all. Those are MY songs — if I feel like doing this, I do it anyway!

"The good first HELLOWEEN years (with Kai Hansen) were also absolutely great; I don't reject them at all! And I think it was a good idea from Serafino (Frontiers Records) to give my songs of the past a new acoustic sound that fits me today. Because on one hand this shows that I don't reject my past; and on the other hand, it can also give some (more open and intelligent) people another perspective at those songs. And if anyone doesn't like that idea. no one forces him or her to listen to it! These new recordings will NOT AT ALL sound like HELLOWEEN or metal, so it is VERY stupid to put it the way some do. I have already started to go through some arrangements, and it's big fun; I'm really excited about it. Those early songs of mine were not so bad at all, and they work great as acoustics."

Michael Kiske's latest solo album, simply entitled "Kiske", was released last May via Frontiers Records.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).