METALLICA Premier New Song During Surprise Club Appearance

METALLICA premiered a new song last night during an ultra-secret live performance under the name SPUN at Club Kimo's in San Francisco, according to

After introducing themselves as "Bob's Band", guitarist/vocalist James Hetfield, drummer Lars Ulrich, guitarist Kirk Hammett and fill-in bassist, producer Bob Rock burst into four RAMONES songs before getting down to performing several METALLICA classics, including the rarely-heard "Hit The Lights". After that, it was time for a new track—apparently as-yet-untitled—which was described by the METALLICA webmaster Niclas Swanlund as "HEAVY, with a nice METALLICA CRUNCH to it." The night ended with "I Disappear" and a version of MISFITS' "Die Die My Darling".

Here was METALLICA's set list for their performance at Club Kimo's:

01. Commando (RAMONES)
02. Today Your Love Tomorrow The World (RAMONES)
03. 53rd and 3rd (RAMONES)
04. Now I Wanna Sniff Some Glue (RAMONES)
05. Hit The Lights
06. Leper Messiah
07. No Remorse
08. For Whom The Bell Tolls
09. (New Song)
10. I Disappear
11. Die Die My Darling (MISFITS)

To view several photos taken at this very special gig, go to


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).