METAL BLADE To Release 'Metal Massacre 14' Compilation In April

In 1982, Metal Blade Records released its first album, "Metal Massacre", a compilation LP that included METALLICA, RATT, and many other influential artists. Now, Metal Blade will continue the legacy of the first album by releasing "Metal Massacre 14" on April 8.

To pre-order your copy — and to hear clips of each track — visit

PRIMORDIAL's Alan Averill — who compiled the tracks for "Metal Massacre 14" — comments: "'Metal Massacre' is an institution that has been dormant for far too long. It served as a vital first step for many bands who are far too numerous to mention back in the early '80s. For fans, it was often the first time engaging with many of these acts, some of whom went on to become household names. Some, of course, didn't, but the rough and ready underground character of 'Metal Massacre' is what set it apart from other compilations back in the day. Those old recordings captured the vitality and energy of the time: all analog hiss, rattling drums, roaring bass and feedbacking solos... No Pro Tools compression, cut-and-paste editing or triggered drums back then. You set the tape rolling and then played for your life. It was in this spirit that I went about compiling a new 'Metal Massacre', with an old-school mindset. Not the most modern sounding, but the bands that capture a more DIY underground spirit that resonates with what 'Metal Massacre' once represented. Of course, the musical climate is different, and you probably won't be listening to the next METALLICA, but what is important is that this spirit does not die and that Metal Blade still supports this underground, underdog ethos. So I give you 'Metal Massacre'! Back from the dead! Here's to the next one!"

"Metal Massacre 14" CD track listing

01. METALIAN - "The Traveler"
02. NOCTUM - "Until Then Until The End"
03. GATEKEEPER - "Bell Of Tarantia"
04. ASSASSIN'S BLADE - "The Demented Force"
05. COBRA - "Denim Attack"
06. STONE DAGGER - "The Siege Of Jerusalem"
07. CRYPT SERMON - "Will Of The Ancient Call"
08. SAVAGE MASTER - "The Ripper In Black"
09. OUTCAST - "No Tomorrow"
10. CORSAIR - "Brothers"
11. WALPYRGUS - "Cold Cold Ground" (bonus)
12. VISIGOTH - "Final Spell" (bonus)
13. RAVENCULT - "Into Depths" (bonus)



Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).