MEGADETH To Issue Posthumous Compilation CD

On September 10th, MEGADETH will issue a posthumous CD, entitled Still, Alive... And Well?, containing studio and live recordings spanning their entire career, including previously unreleased live performances of "Use The Man" and "Conjuring". The album will surface via Sanctuary Records.

The title of the CD was chosen by frontman Dave Mustaine himself. "You may want to know how I named the record," he stated in the record's sleeve-notes. "Well, one of the dumbest questions that I was ever asked by an interviewer, and it happened more than once, was: 'What do you want written on your tombstone?' I told them, 'That I am still, alive and well!' "

"The new tracks were recorded at the Web Theater in Phoenix, Arizona November 17, 2001," Mustaine added. "This was the last concert for MEGADETH prior to my departure. The recording was done for the live CD and DVD Rude Awakening. There were additional tracks that were not on that record, and we've included them on this new release. My return to the studio with Bill Kennedy to finish up the mixing and mastering for the six live songs was really invigorating, these tracks sound amazing. It was awesome to hear how good the band really was.

"As for me, my arm is continuing to heal according to the Doctor's projections and I have even been picking up the guitar every now and then. I am getting excited to start playing and writing again. Trust me, you'll be hearing from me soon.

"I would like to say thanks to everyone for supporting the band, for your understanding of my position and the decision I had to make, for all of your encouragement while I was healing, and rest assured that you haven't heard the last of MEGADETH or Dave Mustaine."

The complete track listing for Still, Alive... And Well? is as follows:

01. Time/Use The Man (live)
02. Conjuring (live)
03. In My Darkest Hour (live)
04. Sweating Bullets (live)
05. Symphony Of Destruction (live)
06. Holy Wars (live)
07. Moto Psycho
08. Dread And Fugitive Mind
09. Promises
10. The World Needs A Hero
11. Burning Bridges
12. Return To Hangar


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).