MASTODON Working On 'Asleep In The Deep' Video

MASTODON Working On 'Asleep In The Deep' Video

Atlanta progressive metallers MASTODON are working on a video for the song "Asleep In The Deep", taken from the band's current album, "Once More 'Round The Sun". The group is collaborating with Atlanta-based special effects guru Shane Morton and renowned American artist Skinner (cover artist for "Once More 'Round The Sun") on what is being described as "a short film that will feature bizarre imagery and psychedelically hued, possibly disturbing and disorienting concepts, starring cats."

As previously reported, MASTODON will re-release all of its Reprise titles on vinyl in the coming months. The first album in the series is 2006's "Blood Mountain", which was issued on March 3 on a mix of solid yellow and transparent green vinyl. "Blood Mountain" placed at No. 9 on Rolling Stone's Top 50 Albums of 2007.

On June 2, 2009's "Crack The Skye" will be released on baby blue vinyl. Earning MASTODON unanimous critical praise, the album led to Rolling Stone calling them "the greatest metal band of their generation — no one else comes close".

On August 4, 2011's "The Hunter" will be released on a mix of solid white and solid red vinyl. The band's first Top 10 album, "The Hunter" was also met with united critical acclaim and spawned the singles "Black Tongue", the Grammy-nominated "Curl Of The Burl" and "Dry Bone Valley".

On October 5, MASTODON's current album, 2014's "Once More 'Round The Sun", will be released on a mix of transparent green and solid white vinyl. The band's highest charting album, with a No. 6 debut on Billboard's Top 200, The album's single "High Road" has been nominated for a 2015 Grammy Award for "Best Metal Performance".

On December 8, MASTODON will release a limited-edition box set featuring all of the band's Reprise titles on vinyl. Only 500 will be made available.

As an added bonus for fans, MASTODON released a limited-edition 12-inch vinyl picture disc in celebration of Record Store Day on April 18. The disc is comprised of a new song titled "Atlanta", featuring guest vocals from Gibby Haynes from BUTTHOLE SURFERS, originally only digitally available as part of the Adult Swim Singles Series. The B-side is an unreleased instrumental version of "Atlanta", and is exclusive to this very limited Record Store Day pressing.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).