MASTERCASTLE To Release 'The Phoenix' In April

MASTERCASTLE, the new project featuring LABYRINTH guitarist Pier Gonella, will release its debut album, "The Phoenix", on April 19 via Lion Music.

According to a press release, "The Phoenix" is "a potent slice of metal with neo-classical and traditional metal influences within its ten songs. The guitar work of Pier is sure to please fans of the likes of Yngwie Malmsteen, with its strong riffs and explosive lead work. Giorgia Gueglio's vocals are equal to task of matching Gonella's guitar work with their great power and soaring qualities and also serve in giving MASTERCASTLE their own unique sound. MASTERCASTLE are completed by the rhythm section of bassist Steve Vawamas and guest drummer Alessandro Bissa a.k.a. Bix (VISION DIVINE) who combine to create a solid backdrop for all tracks. The lyrics for the album by Giorgia Gueglio are mostly influenced by human nature as well as forgotten tales and events. For example, the song 'Greed Blade' tells about the disaster of Vajont, a dam on the Italian alps that after a landslide, created a giant wave that destroyed towns and villages and villages in the valley. The title track, 'The Phoenix', tells a story human nature that need to be as strong as the phoenix, the legendary bird that dies and is born again on his ashes. The song 'Princess Of Love' is a mystical tale about the magic presence of a clan of witches dancing in the forest."

"The Phoenix" track listing:

01. Words Are Swords
02. Princess Of Love
03. Space
04. My Screams
05. Lullaby Noir
06. The Phoenix
07. Greed Blade
08. Dawn Of Promises
09. Memories
10. Cradle Of Stone

For more information, visit


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).