MADBALL Frontman Interviewed At Holland's DYNAMO OUTDOOR Festival (Video)

Eindhoven Distortion conducted an interview with vocalist Freddy Cricien of New York hardcore legends MADBALL when the band played the Dynamo Outdoor festival on August 29, 2010 in Eindhoven, Holland. You can now watch the chat below.

MADBALL will release its new album, "Empire", on October 12 via Good Fight Music. The CD was recorded at Mana Recording Studios in St. Petersburg, Florida with producer Erik Rutan, who has previously worked with MISERY INDEX, CANNIBAL CORPSE and GOATWHORE, among many others.

A track from the forthcoming album, "‘R.A.H.C.", is now available for streaming on the MADBALL MySpace page.

"Empire" track listing:

01. Invigorate
02. Danger Zone
03. Timeless
04. All Or Nothing
05. Glory Years
06. Empire
07. Shatterproof (feat. Roger Miret)
08. The End
09. Con Fuerza
10. R.A.H.C.
11. Hurt You
12. "Tough Guy"
13. Dark Horse
14. Spider's Web
15. Delete
16. Rebel4life18

Regarding the new album's title, Cricien previously stated, "MADBALL has come a long way from being street kids to becoming very established in our genre, and even beyond the music. We're finally at a point in our life where we're taking control of our things, whereas before we didn't have control of some things or didn't choose to have control. We have the feeling that we've built a little empire for ourselves with our band, brand, and different endeavors." He continued, "We get this reference that we're kings of New York."

"There are plenty of awesome bands that have come out of the city. AGNOSTIC FRONT are the godfathers of New York hardcore, SICK OF IT ALL are one of the undisputed champs of the scene... we were always known as more of the bad guys, but now people are calling us the kings. It's not a title we gave ourselves and it's not that we call ourselves that, but it's just a term of endearment and respect that people use and it plays into the name 'Empire'.

According to Cricien, fans of MADBALL should expect the sound that they have always loved, but some evolution as well. "There's a certain sound that we're known for, and as much as we want to evolve with the times, we also have to keep in mind that there's a certain standard and integrity with MADBALL, and we have to preserve that," he said. "Real-deal hardcore kids totally appreciate that. That said, the foundation always has to be a certain sound, but we always bring new elements into our sound. There has to be some evolution. It might appeal to people outside of the hardcore realm, but in the end, it's going to be a MADBALL record."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).