MÖTLEY CRÜE: Second 'Music To Crash Your Car To' Box Set Due This Month

MÖTLEY CRÜE will release the second four-CD box set installment of the band's complete history, "Music To Crash Your Car To, Volume II", on June 29 through Hip-O Records.

Following the four-CD box set "Music To Crash Your Car To, Volume I", issued in late 2003, "Volume II" continues the tale through 1994. Along with three complete previously released albums, the collection adds the rare "Quaternary" EP, demos, alternate mixes and even a previously unreleased track — "Black Widow", from the sessions for 1983's "Shout At The Devil". Co-produced by the band's Nikki Sixx, and with each track digitally remastered, "Music To Crash Your Car To, Volume II" also boasts a package augmented by a comic book, poster and booklet with essay.

With singer Vince Neil, guitarist Mick Mars, bassist Sixx and drummer Tommy Lee out of rehab, MÖTLEY CRÜE returned in 1989 with their fifth album. The six times platinum "Dr. Feelgood" spun off their first pop Top 10s — "Dr. Feelgood" and "Without You" — the pop Top 20 "Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)" and Top 40 album rockers "Kickstart My Heart" and "Same Ol' Situation". In addition, Disc One of "Music To Crash Your Car To, Volume II" adds "Get It For Free" and the demos for "Dr. Feelgood", "Without You" and "Kickstart My Heart" from the 1999 expanded reissue and the "Time For Change" demo from its Japanese edition.

Disc Two gathers the loose end recordings that portend the end of MÖTLEY CRÜE Mk I. The core of the disc are the recordings that first appeared on 1991's "Decade Of Decadence '81-'91", including "Home Sweet Home ['91 Remix]" (which went pop Top 40), "Live Wire [Kick Ass '91 remix]", "Piece Of Your Action [Screamin' '91 Remix]", a live "Kickstart My Heart", "Teaser" from the benefit album "Stairway To Heaven, Highway To Hell", "Rock 'n' Roll Junkie" from the soundtrack album to "The Adventures Of Ford Fairlane", and new cuts "Primal Scream" and a cover of the SEX PISTOLS' "Anarchy In The U.K." To them are added recordings of the era that debuted on 1999's "Supersonic & Demonic Relics": "Say Yeah", "Mood Ring", "Monstrous", a demo take of "Knock 'Em Dead, Kid", "Sinners & Saints" and a live version of "Dr. Feelgood". The cherry on top is the long-sought-after unreleased recording "Black Widow".

Disc Three marks a major change in the band with the exit of Neil and the introduction of John Corabi for 1994's heavier, more introspective MÖTLEY CRÜE, which went gold and peaked in the Top 10. The 1999 reissue's "Hypnotized" is also included.

Disc Four is highlighted by the five-track 1994 "Quaternary" EP, previously available only through a limited mail-order release. Four other tracks, including demos of "Hammered" and "Livin' In The No" and the SKINNY PUPPY remix of "Hooligan's Holiday", were on the Japanese edition. Four alternate versions from promo-only CD singles that year are also heard, two each for "Misunderstood" and "Hooligan's Holiday".

The final four-CD box set "Music To Crash Your Car To, Volume III" will be issued later this year.

"Music To Crash Your Car To, Volume II" track listing:

Disc One:

01. T.n.T. (Terror 'n Tinseltown)
02. Dr. Feelgood
03. Slice Of Your Pie
04. Rattlesnake Shake
05. Kickstart My Heart
06. Without You
07. Same Ol' Situation (S.O.S.)
08. Sticky Sweet
09. She Goes Down
10. Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)
11. Time For Change
12. Dr. Feelgood
13. Without You
14. Kickstart My Heart
15. Get It For Free
16. Time For Change

Disc Two:

01. Live Wire
02. Piece Of Your Action
03. Black Widow
04. Sinners And Saints
05. Knock 'Em Dead, Kid
06. Mood Ring
07. Home Sweet Home
08. So Good, So Bad
09. Monstrous
10. Say Yeah
11. Kickstart My Heart
12. Dr. Feelgood
13. Teaser
14. Rock 'N' Roll Junkie
15. Primal Scream
16. Angela
17. Anarchy In The U.K.

Disc Three:

01. Power To The Music
02. Uncle Jack
03. Hooligan's Holiday
04. Misunderstood
05. Loveshine
06. Poison Apples
07. Hammered
08. Til Death Do Us Part
09. Welcome To The Numb
10. Smoke The Sky
11. Droppin' Like Flies
12. Driftaway
13. Hypnotized

Disc Four:

01. Planet Boom
02. Bittersuite
03. Father
04. Friends
05. Babykills
06. 10,000 Miles Away
07. Hooligan's Holiday
08. Hammered
09. Livin' In The No
10. Misunderstood
11. Hooligan's Holiday
12. Misunderstood
13. Hooligan's Holiday


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).