LORDI To Release Sophomore Album In April

Finnish "monster metal" band LORDI have set an April 14 release date for their second, as-yet-untitled album. The group shot a video for the album's first single, "Blood Red Sandman", at a Helsinki studio last week.

The CD was produced by Hiili Hiilesmaa (H.I.M., SENTENCED, AMORPHIS) and will contain the following track listing:

01. Blood Red Sandman
02. Pet The Destroyer
03. ...My Heaven Is Your Hell
04. Wake The Snake
05. The Children Of The Night
06. Fire In The Hole
07. Haunted Town
08. Forsaken Fashion Dolls
09. Shotgun Divorce
10. Kalmageddon
11. Bring It On

"Every song tells a horror story," LORDI mainman and namesake told Sonera Plaza. "They are not related to each other, but the whole album is revolves around a 'horror'-type theme."

LORDI's second album will be a bit heavier compared to the group's debut, "Get Heavy".

"It was one of our goals to have a heavier and also little bit more modern sound this time," Lordi said. "I composed all the songs on the debut album but this time every member of the band was involved in the songwriting and you can really hear the difference. It's more diverse."

The group's upcoming CD will come with a bonus DVD featuring a 30-minute horror movie which was written by Lordi and two collaborators.

"We started writing this movie about a year ago and the film was shot during last autumn," Lordi said. "It's like an episode of 'Twilight Zone'. And it's definitely not a movie about LORDI. You will, of course, see characters from the band in the movie but we just play scary monsters in the film. When you see it, you should not think of us as members of the band, but as of actors. The band has also composed the music for the movie but it's not rock music or heavy metal at all. It's like atmospheric soundtrack music."

LORDI are scheduled to play Helsinki's Nosturi on April 15. They will also play in Tampere and Turku during April.

Check out some new LORDI pictures at this location.

(Thanks: Timo Isoaho / Sonera Plaza Kaista)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).