LIVING SACRIFICE: New Song 'Screwtape' Available For Streaming

LIVING SACRIFICE: New Song 'Screwtape' Available For Streaming

Christian metal veterans LIVING SACRIFICE will release their eighth studio album, "Ghost Thief", on November 12 via Solid State Records. The CD marks the Little Rock, Arkansas band's first release since returning from a multi-year hiatus with 2010's "The Infinite Order", an album that led Alternative Press to declare the band "back at full strength." Pop Matters called the band "masters of their craft," adding that "'The Infinite Order' is proof of why LIVING SACRIFICE is one of the most influential Christian metal bands of all time."

Running the extremes from blisteringly fast to mid-tempo thrash with groove to spare, "Ghost Thief" is a clinic on how a band with a 20-plus-year career can continue to make relevant metal. While the music stretches out sonically, the songs are held together thematically through one dark motif: the fleeting quickness of this life and the idea of an afterlife.

"'Ghost Thief' is a reference to the personification of Death," guitarist/vocalist Bruce Fitzhugh explains. "Depending on the circumstance, death can be greeted as an enemy or a friend. We have a few songs that deal with the suddenness and finality of death. 'Ghost Thief' and 'Sudden' both are inspired by people who died suddenly and unexpectedly. Friends of ours or family members that we were close to."

Produced by DEMON HUNTER's Jeremiah Scott, "Ghost Thief" marks the eighth studio album LIVING SACRIFICE has issued since 1989, when a teenage Fitzhugh and Lance Garvin (drums) first united with friend DJ Johnson and later Jason Truby, determined to create a metal band as musically uncompromising as the secular groups of the day with a positive lyrical message. Practically unheard of at the time and to many quite controversial, the result blew open doors and crossed preconceived boundaries with a mix of thrash and death metal across their first three albums.

The band went through natural shifts over the ensuing years, with some members going on to join bands like P.O.D. and EVANESCENCE. Through the years, however, the constants of Fitzhugh and Garvin, and then mainstays Rocky Gray (guitar) and Arthur Green (bass) since 1998, steered the ship, and LIVING SACRIFICE achieved its goal of helping Christian metal transcend its own boundaries to become something respected and admired throughout the metal realm — a fact evident today in the countless bands LIVING SACRIFICE has influenced.

"Ghost Thief" track listing:

01. Screwtape (featuring Ryan Clark)
02. Ghost Thief
03. The Reaping
04. Straw Man
05. Sudden
06. Mask
07. American Made
08. Before
09. Your War
10. Despair (featuring Dave Peters)

The song "Screwtape" can be streamed using the SoundCloud widget below.



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).