Listen To New PRIMUS Song 'The Scheme'

Listen To New PRIMUS Song 'The Scheme'

PRIMUS will release its ninth studio album, "The Desaturating Seven", on September 29 via ATO Records.

This is the band's first studio collection of original material since 1995's "Tales From The Punchbowl" with the classic PRIMUS lineup of Les Claypool (vocals, bass), Larry LaLonde (guitar) and Tim Alexander (drums).

"The Desaturating Seven" is inspired by a 1970s children's book Claypool often read to his kids when they were growing up. The book tells a story of seven goblins — one representing each color of the rainbow — who simultaneously pull all of the color out of the world.

"Many years ago, when my children were little kidlets scurrying around the place wreaking havoc and whatnot till it was time for bed and book time, my wife turned them on to a book called 'The Rainbow Goblins' by Ul De Rico," Claypool explained. "The dark imagery and beauty of the art struck me immediately and I thought, 'This would make good fodder for a piece of music.' The use of color and darkness both in the paintings and the writing was compelling and now, near two decades later, the metaphor of greed, gluttony and deceit vs unity of the masses is eerily relevant. I brought the notion to the PRIMUS guys and they were all for it. Plus, I figured it's about time someone brought 'Goblin Rock' back to the fold."

"The Desaturating Seven" track listing:

01. The Valley
02. The Seven
03. The Trek
04. The Scheme
05. The Dream
06. The Storm
07. The Ends?

The song "The Scheme" can be streamed below.

"The Desaturated Seven" will have two unique vinyl pressings — a limited-edition desaturated version drained of most of its color with a white vinyl and a version with full color sleeve and clear vinyl with rainbow splatter.

A Grammy-nominated and multi-platinum-selling band, PRIMUS has toured with some of rock's biggest names (JANE'S ADDICTION, PUBLIC ENEMY, RUSH, U2, etc.) and headlined the third-ever Lollapalooza festival.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).