Video Premiere: LIFE OF AGONY's 'Black Heart'

Video Premiere: LIFE OF AGONY's 'Black Heart'

LIFE OF AGONY has released the official music video for the song "Black Heart" from the band's forthcoming concept record, "The Sound Of Scars", due on October 11 via Napalm.

On October 12, 1993, LIFE OF AGONY's iconic debut, "River Runs Red", was released. Hailed by Rolling Stone as "one of the greatest metal records of all time," it was an emotional concept album that focused on a troubled teenager's inability to cope with what seemed to be the worst week of his life. The album connected to a broken generation in a visceral way through its cathartic message and hard-hitting approach, and the band developed a cult-following in the process.

Twenty-six years later, practically to the day, LIFE OF AGONY will continue the story of "River Runs Red" with "The Sound Of Scars", acting as a "chapter two" to their groundbreaking album. On October 11, 2019, the band comes full circle and picks up exactly where their debut left off, revealing just what happened to the troubled boy through intense audio scenes.

Bassist Alan Robert said: "'The Sound Of Scars' feels like such a monumental moment in LIFE OF AGONY's story. On one hand, we've come full circle, continuing the concept of our 1993 debut 'River Runs Red', and on the other hand, we've reached new heights with the raw power of the sound and songwriting. We really cannot wait for fans to sink their teeth into this beast and take this emotional journey with us. This record is a monster."

"Sound Of Scars" track listing:

01. Prelude
02. Scars
03. Black Heart
04. Lay Down
05. Then
06. Empty Hole
07. My Way Out
08. Eliminate
09. Now
10. Once Below
11. Stone
12. Weight Of The World
13. When
14. I Surrender

"By far, this is the best LIFE OF AGONY record you've heard in years," explains guitarist Joey Z. "We really went back to our roots on this one and tapped into the mindset we had when we first started the band."

LIFE OF AGONY vocalist Mina Caputo told the Fargo, North Dakota radio station 95.9 KRFF about "The Sound Of Scars": "It's always exciting to release new music. Whether or not it gets the accolades is irrelevant in a sense, but I'm happy that everybody is extremely excited. Reaction so far has been mega... It's definitely, hands down, my favorite LIFE OF AGONY album ever... We went to Ashland, Oregon and spent some time tracking drums with Sylvia Massy. We're in the middle of the mountains. I love nature, but I am a city person. I've had my bits of living in the forest in Sweden; I've lived in Miami; I've lived in L.A. by the hills. I love nature, but gravity pulls me back always to the city. A city person being in the middle of Ashland, Oregon was very therapeutic. The process has been extremely rewarding, and we had a great time writing the music, locking ourselves up in the room with one another. We had a great time with Sylvia. We're trying to keep that vibration up."

LIFE OF AGONY will embark on the "The Sound Of Scars" world tour, beginning in England this October with DOYLE (of the MISFITS fame) and EVOLUTION EMPIRE supporting.

Photo credit: Gino DePinto


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).