LIONSHEART Bounce Back With New Lineup, Album

LIONSHEART, the early '90s British melodic rock outfit fronted by former GRIM REAPER/ONSLAUGHT singer Steve Grimmett, have completed work on a new album, "Abyss", due later in the year through an as-yet-undisclosed label.

"Abyss" was recorded at the Warehouse Studio in Oxford, U.K. throughout May/June 2003 and was engineered by Steve Watkins.

The complete track listing for "Abyss" (view cover artwork here) is as follows:

01. Screaming
02. Nightmare
03. All I Got
04. I Need Love
05. How Can I Tell You?
06. I'm Alive
07. Don't Waste My Time
08. If You Cut Me
09. Save Me
10. Witchcraft
11. How Long?
12. Abyss

Low-quality Real Audio clips of the tracks "How Can I Tell You?", "I Need Love" and "Nightmare" can be heard at this location.

Grimmett, who has kept a relatively low profile since the release of LIONSHEART's sophomore effort, "Pride In Tact" in 1994, recently commented on the lengthy delay between the group's last two albums:

"To cut a very long story short, I got totally pissed off with the people I was working for and with," the singer said. "I felt I became a meal ticket for every one. I became physically and mentally drained, and my life became a world full of shit, so I hid from it all. I found myself in bars and pubs falling further down. [Guitarist] Ian [Nash] had been on to me to record songs with him but at that time I didn't listen to any kind of music at all, so I put him off several times. Then just to get him off my back, I agreed to record a song with him. As we progressed with the song, I liked it more and more and I found working with Ian awesome! We click, as I'm sure you can tell from the songs on the album. But before all that, he got me to go along to a form of martial arts called Aikido, this taught me to be calm and coordinated and slowly but surely I got myself together through Aikido and got myself to black belt. This album has taken a long time to get finished and has had a lot of trials along the way. I wanted to get a band together that would stand the test of time, not quit at the moment you are about to start something. You wouldn't believe the amount of people we lost along the way! Well chaps [referring to past members and business associates], it got finished without you, and in my opinion better, so thanks for quitting along the way. You have made this band what I wanted it to be."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).